4.5 C
Mount Panorama
Tuesday, May 28, 2024


Some surprises in store for next year’s schedule …


THE 2019 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship calendar has been revealed today – and there’s quite a few differences from this year’s schedule.

The number of events has dropped by one with Sydney Motorsport Park removed from the 2019 schedule and its night race format to instead be utilised at Barbagallo Raceway in Perth.

Supercars intend to return to SMP in early 2020 in a better time of year after holding a night race there this August. It’s also part of a shift towards a summer-focused schedule.

SMP is in discussions with the NSW Government to secure permanent lighting of the circuit, which, if successful, may lead to a long-term agreement to keep the event under lights.

In other changes for next year:

– The Sandown 500 moves to November to become the final round of the Pirtek Enduro Cup to move away from the AFL and NRL Final Series with the thought of better weather more likely too.

– Pukekohe now moves to the middle of September on the traditional middle of the month weekend previously occupied by Sandown.

– Bathurst becomes the opening round of the Pirtek Enduro Cup.

– The pre-season test day will be split across Phillip Island and Queensland Raceway in two days in mid-February.

– Formats for Winton and Gold Coast will be finalised next week with Winton potentially a two day meeting with supports running on Friday.

– The Commission is to discuss the Gold Coast becoming a one-race, 500km format in line with Sandown.

– The Dunlop Super2 Series makes a return to Queensland Raceway.

The 2019 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship calendar:

Feb 13-14: Test Day, Queensland Raceway/Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit

Feb 28-Mar 3: Adelaide 500, Adelaide (DS2)

Mar 14-17: Melbourne 400, Formula One Australian Grand Prix, Albert Park

April 5-7: Tyrepower Tasmania SuperSprint, Launceston

April 12-14: WD-40 Phillip Island 500; Phillip Island

May 2-4: Perth SuperNight, Barbagallo Raceway, Perth (DS2)

May 24-26: Winton SuperSprint, Winton Raceway, Winton

June 14-16: CrownBet Darwin Triple Crown, Darwin

July 5-7: Watpac Townsville 400, Townsville (DS2)

July 26-28: Ipswich SuperSprint, Ipswich (DS2)

Aug 23-25: The Bend SuperSprint, Tailem Bend

Sept 13-15: ITM SuperSprint, Auckland

Oct 10-13: Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000, Bathurst (DS2)

Oct 25-27: Vodafone Gold Coast 500, Gold Coast

Nov 8-10: Sandown 500, Sandown

Nov 22-24: Coates Hire Newcastle 500 (DS2)

NB: DS2 – denotes Dunlop Super2 Series.

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.