The field streams through the chicane at the 2000 Clipsal 500 in Adelaide. Photo: / Dirk Klynsmith.

V8 SLEUTH’S new jam-packed 400-page hardcover collector’s book documenting the history of the wildly successful Adelaide 500 – the only event to be inducted into the Supercars Hall of Fame – is now in stock and available to buy here now.

The new book ‘Sensational Adelaide: The Illustrated History Of The Adelaide 500’ features year-by-year review chapters, never-before-published photographs, a comprehensive statistics section and a photo of every Supercar to ever compete in the event from 1999 to 2020.

The perfect gift for Father’s Day, it’s been compiled by V8 Sleuth’s Stefan Bartholomaeus, Will Dale and Aaron Noonan along with Race Torque Media’s Richard Craill.

First held in 1999, the Adelaide 500 became a jewel in the crown of Supercars racing and has won numerous awards over the course of the years, all while playing host to the biggest domestic stars of the V8 category.

It was announced in late 2020 that the South Australian Government had decided to axe the event, despite it having another year remaining on its contract with Supercars to be held in 2021.

The announcement prompted huge calls from the industry and fans for the event to be re-instated given its prestige and undoubted income for the state.

The event’s roll call of overall winners reads like a who’s who of Supercars racing, including inaugural winner Craig Lowndes, Mark Skaife, Jamie Whincup, Scott McLaughlin, Shane van Gisbergen, Garth Tander, Will Davison, Rick Kelly, James Courtney, Jason Bright and Nick Percat.

Proud South Australian and 2016 Adelaide 500 winner Percat has penned the foreword for the book, which has been printed in a limited quantity of just 1200 copies, making it a must-have for the motorsport bookshelf of any enthusiast.

2016 Clipsal 500 Adelaide winner Nick Percat has penned the foreword for the new book documenting the event’s history. Photo: / Dirk Klynsmith.