13.4 C
Mount Panorama
Thursday, May 30, 2024


THIS is how the Supercars grid will look when the 2020 Bathurst 1000 starts on Sunday morning.

UPDATE: Nick Percat has been disqualified from the Top 10 Shootout over a weight infringement; the grid below has been updated to reflect his new starting position.

Cameron Waters romped to his first pole position in the ‘Great Race’, wheeling out the first ‘three’ of the weekend at the perfect time; his 2m03.5592s lap gave him a margin of 0.4429s over the field.

However, he and teammate Will Davison will have to overcome a history of bad luck to befall pole-winning Tickford Racing entries, and a history that doesn’t favour Fords that start the race from pole position.

Next best is the reigning champion, Scott McLaughlin missing a ‘three’ of his own by 0.0021 of a second but pipping the Holden of Chaz Mostert to secure an all-Ford front row after a dramatic Shootout in which the heavily forecast rain never eventuated.

LIVE: Follow all the action from Race Day at the Bathurst 1000

TV GUIDE: Where and when you can watch the Bathurst 1000 on TV

EARLY START: Bathurst 1000 race start time changed due to weather

AS IT HAPPENED: All the action from Shootout Day at the Bathurst 1000

Provisional polesitter Lee Holdsworth struggled for front tyre grip throughout his lap and slid to sixth, while neither of the Triple Eight drivers challenged for the top spot in the end; Shane van Gisbergen missed the apex at the Chase and ended up fifth, while Jamie Whincup ran off the road at the same spot and will start ninth.

Nick Percat soared from 10th to fourth with a stunning lap as the first driver out of the gate, only to be excluded for being two kilograms under the minimum weight limit for car and driver in full apparel when it was measured after his lap, relegating the #8 Holden back to 10th on the grid.

Several big-name combinations will start outside the top 10, including 2017 race winner David Reynolds and Will Brown from 13th, 2013 race winner Mark Winterbottom and James Golding from 18th, and 2003/2004 winner Rick Kelly and Dale Wood from 19th.

Starting down the field is not always a hindrance; three out of the last six Bathurst 1000s have been won from 15th or worse on the grid, while the car that starts on grid position #1 has only taken victory twice since 2009.

The forecast wet weather may not necessarily produce an upset winner either: the most recent rain-hit Bathurst 1000 in 2017 was won by the car that started from second place on the grid.

The Bathurst 1000 will start on Sunday morning at 11:00am AEDT.

THE GRID – 2020 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

PosCar #DriverCo-driverCarTime/Gap
16Cameron WatersWill DavisonFord2m03.5592s
217Scott McLaughlinTim SladeFord2m04.0021s
325Chaz MostertWarren LuffHolden2m04.0100s
497Shane van GisbergenGarth TanderHolden2m04.4511s
55Lee HoldsworthMichael CarusoFord2m04.6765s
699Anton De PasqualeBrodie KosteckiHolden2m04.7688s
712Fabian CoulthardTony D’AlbertoFord2m04.8534s
844James CourtneyBroc FeeneyFord2m05.3549s
9888Jamie WhincupCraig LowndesHolden2m06.3941s
108Nick PercatThomas RandleHoldenEXC
112Bryce FullwoodKurt KosteckiHolden2m04.6050s
1220Scott PyeDean FioreHolden2m04.6320s
139David ReynoldsWill BrownHolden2m04.6730s
147Andre HeimgartnerDylan O’KeeffeFord2m04.8530s
1555Jack Le BrocqJames MoffatFord2m04.9054s
1614Todd HazelwoodJordan BoysHolden2m04.9729s
173Macauley JonesTim BlanchardHolden2m05.0374s
1818Mark WinterbottomJames GoldingHolden2m05.1734s
1915Rick KellyDale WoodFord2m05.2592s
2019Alex DavisonJonathon WebbHolden2m05.3322s
2135Garry JacobsonDavid RussellHolden2m05.4142s
224Jack SmithJack PerkinsHolden2m06.3498s
2322Chris PitherSteve OwenHolden2m06.3535s
2440Tyler EveringhamJayden OjedaHolden2m06.6813s
2534Jake KosteckiZane GoddardHolden2m15.1542s
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.