14.6 C
Mount Panorama
Saturday, May 25, 2024


SHANE van Gisbergen made it from 15 wins from 25 starts this season as Triple Eight Race Engineering regained the ascendancy at Sandown in the first of two Sunday encounters.

With both Shell V-Power Mustangs starting outside the top 10, van Gisbergen led into Turn 1 and was virtually unchallenged from there.

Chaz Mostert was runner-up, repaying the efforts of his crew who executed a rapid-fire engine change pre-race, finishing 7.5168s down on van Gisbergen.

Following a ragged opening stint for front-row starter Cameron Waters, it was down to David Reynolds to give Ford fans hope of a top three result.

However, Will Brown made it a Holden trifecta when he forced his way by for third late in the piece to collect his best result of the season.

There was pit lane trouble for both Triple Eight and DJR.

Broc Feeney had been running third in the opening stint before stalling trying to leave his pit box, while Race 24 winner Will Davison was served with a drive-through penalty for an infringement at his stop.

That left the pair out of contention, recovering to 10th and 15th respectively.

All up, there were nine teams represented in the top nine – the first time that has happened since the controversial Sunday race at the 2019 Auckland SuperSprint.

Reynolds came home fourth for Grove Racing, ahead of Scott Pye (Team 18), Andre Heimgartner (Brad Jones Racing), Waters (Tickford Racing), Anton De Pasquale (DJR), and James Golding (PremiAir Racing).

Golding had earlier delivered PremiAir Racing its best ever qualifying result, as he continues to shine in his third round since replacing Garry Jacobson.

Mark Winterbottom had run well inside the 10 before fading to 12th; the Irwin Racing ZB Commodore copped a whack to its rear from Brodie Kostecki at pit entry.

Kostecki nursed his damaged Erebus Motorsport #99 to 23rd, only ahead of Matt Stone Racing teammates Todd Hazelwood and Jack Le Brocq who both picked up damage on Lap 1.

Race 25 results

1. Shane van Gisbergen
2. Chaz Mostert
3. Will Brown
4. David Reynolds
5. Scott Pye
6. Andre Heimgartner
7. Cameron Waters
8. Anton De Pasquale
9. James Golding
10. Broc Feeney
11. Tim Slade
12. Mark Winterbottom
13. James Courtney
14. Macauley Jones
15. Will Davison
16. Chris Pither
17. Thomas Randle
18. Lee Holdsworth
19. Nick Percat
20. Jake Kostecki
21. Bryce Fullwood
22. Jack Smith
23. Brodie Kostecki
24. Todd Hazelwood
25. Jack Le Brocq

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.