2.4 C
Mount Panorama
Tuesday, May 21, 2024


Supercars to pay tribute to nine-time race winner this October …

THE 2016 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 in October will celebrate the legacy of the late Peter Brock, just over 10 years after the shock death of the Hall of Famer in 2006.

Supercars will launch this year’s race in Sydney tomorrow (Tuesday August 9) to unveil plans commemorating Brock and celebrating 10 years of the Peter Brock Trophy, named in his honour and now presented to the winning pair of drivers each year.

Three-time Bathurst winner Dick Johnson will be present at the launch as well as Brock’s former partner Bev, where it’s expected details will be confirmed relating to a range of elements on and off track at this year’s event that will have a distinct ‘Brock flavour’.

On display tomorrow will be one of Brock’s legendary 1984 ‘Big Banger’ Holden Dealer Team VK Commodores.

By the way, all nine of Brock’s Bathurst wins are now available here to buy in a special boxed DVD set featuring 16 discs and over 50 hours of golden vision from the Seven Sport vault.

Current drivers attending includesix-time and reigningwinner Craig Lowndes, 2014 victorChaz Mostert and 2010 Supercars Champion James Courtney from the Holden Racing Team.

Also named to be present at the launch are be the Harvey Norman Supergirls combination of Renee Gracie and Simona de Silvestro, who paired last year at Bathurst in a Prodrive Racing-prepared and run Falcon FG X and will return to again compete in this year’s race.

A quick reminder of the Peter Brock Trophy winners since it was first awarded in 2006:

2006 – Craig Lowndes/Jamie Whincup

2007 – Craig Lowndes/Jamie Whincup

2008 – Craig Lowndes/Jamie Whincup

2009 – Garth Tander/Will Davison

2010 – Craig Lowndes/Mark Skaife

2011 – Garth Tander/Nick Percat

2012 – Jamie Whincup/Paul Dumbrell

2013 – Mark Winterbottom/Steve Richards

2014 – Chaz Mostert/Paul Morris

2015 – Craig Lowndes/Steve Richards

Of the 11 drivers that have won the Peter Brock Trophy, nine will be in action this October. The other two are Mark Skaife – who will be part of the TV broadcast team – and Paul Morris.

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.