11.3 C
Mount Panorama
Monday, April 22, 2024
HomeNewsCarrera Cup Australia to race overseas in 2024

Carrera Cup Australia to race overseas in 2024

PORSCHE Carrera Cup Australia will pick up an international round next year, but it won’t be the mooted trip to Suzuka.

Rather, the one-make series will follow the Repco Supercars Championship to New Zealand to race at the ITM Taupo Super400 on April 19-21.

It will mark just the second time Carrera Cup Australia has ever ventured abroad, following a 2017 stop at Sepang in Malaysia, and is fitting given the enduring success tasted by Kiwi drivers in the category.

New Zealanders Jim Richards, Fabian Coulthard, Craig Baird and Jaxon Evans have all won the championship previously, and Callum Hedge could join that club if he can overhaul a 21-point deficit to Jackson Walls at the upcoming Adelaide 2023 decider.

V8 Sleuth understands the Taupo Motorsport Park round is likely to come at the expense of the annual voyage to Townsville.

While a full 2024 calendar is yet to be released, Taupo is pencilled in as Round 2.

“Returning to an overseas venue has been on the agenda for the championship for some time, but it needed to be the right venue, the right time and the right place,” said Porsche Cars Australia motorsport manager Barry Hay.

“This ticks all of those boxes and so much more and we’re proud to be taking one-make Porsche racing back to New Zealand in 2024.

“Following the Supercars to Taupo for the first ITM Taupo Super400 event made all the sense in the world, and we have worked closely with the Repco Supercars Championship, Porsche Motorsport New Zealand and our teams and competitors to make the trip achievable.

“Carrera Cup has such incredible Kiwi heritage and DNA and while we are Carrera Cup Australia, we are fiercely proud to represent New Zealand as well – as witnessed with the teams and drivers who come across the Tasman to race with us.

“It’s going to be an incredible trip for our teams and drivers and a great experience to take the show on the road to another country.

“The Kiwi fans will have plenty of local to cheer for in our field next year and I am sure they are all relishing the chance to watch another Kiwi sporting star beat up on the Aussies in New Zealand!”

Among the New Zealanders stepping up to Carrera Cup next year will be Zac Stichbury and newly crowned Porsche Sprint Challenge champion Marco Giltrap.

Marco Giltrap. Pic: Supplied
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.