The voice of Supercars recognised alongside 2016 national champions …

NEIL Crompton, long regarded as the voice of Supercars racing on television in Australia, has receiveda CAMS Media Service Award at the annual CAMS Motor Sport Awards held at Crown Casino in Melbourne on Saturday evening, February 18.

A foundation member of the famous Holden Racing Team, Crompton’s driving career spanned time alongside greats of the sport including Peter Brock, Craig Lowndes, Wayne Gardner, Jim Richards, Brad Jones, Win Percy and Glenn Seton as well as time spent representing manufacturers including Holden, Ford, BMW, Nissan and Peugeot.

His media career has included stints at ABC, Seven,Network 10, Triple M and many other outlets, becoming the familiar face and voice of motorsport on television to a generation of fans across the country.

Crompton has also recently penned the foreword to the new V8 Sleuth book featuring the racing histories of every Holden Racing Team race car, spanning the creation of the time in 1989 to 2016 – it can be pre-ordered here online now.

Crompton was just one of numerous contributors to Australian motorsport beyond the current crop of champions that were recognised at the event.

CAMS Life Memberships were the first to be awarded on the night, with Colin Trinder, Alan Vaughan, Denise Strawbridge and John Bowe all receiving life membership honours for their contributions to motor sport spanning multiple decades.

Bill Buckle OAM received the Phil Irving Award for 2016, recognising his engineering excellence across an outstanding 60-year career.

After being recognised on the Australia Day honours list, Mark Webber AO was awarded the Peter Brock Medal in recognition of his outstanding international motor sport career. Webber recently announced his retirement from full-time professional competition, with career highlights including being crowned 2015 FIA World Endurance Champion and nine FIA Formula One World Championship race victories.

As well as Webber’s recognition on the international stage, Australia’s own Dr Brent May was recognised by the FIA as the Best Doctor of the Season.

Garrett ‘Garry’ Coleman OAM accepted a Presidential Citation for being a National Coordinator and Senior Chaplain at motor sport events.

Locally, Dr Michael Henderson received the Award of Merit, while Robert Thiry was awarded the 2015 Australian Official of the Year.

Photographer Glenis Lindley received a Media Service Awardwhile Rebecca Thompson took out the Photograph of the Year, with John Morris claiming Photographer of the Year honours and Paul Gover awarded Journalist of the Year.

Photo Credit – George Hitchens

V8 Sleuth strives to both preserve and celebrate Australian motorsport’s rich history, from tracking and tracing the race-by-race histories and changing ownership of individual cars, to capturing and retelling the stories of the people who made our sport what it is today.