15.2 C
Mount Panorama
Saturday, May 25, 2024


SCOTT McLaughlin’s status as the youngest race winner in ATCC/Repco Supercars Championship history could soon be safe for the foreseeable future.

McLaughlin has held the record for more than nine years, having claimed his first championship race win on 13 April, 2013 at Pukekohe.

Then driving a Garry Rogers Motorsport VF Commodore, he was aged 19 years and 307 days.

Triple Eight Race Engineering teen sensation Broc Feeney has just one race left to break the record: the Saturday leg of the Sandown SuperSprint this weekend.

If his first win comes in either of the Sunday races at Sandown, he’ll tie McLaughlin.

Feeney has been a regular presence in the top 10 throughout his rookie main game campaign and chalked up his maiden podium at Symmons Plains in March.

Sandown has been a happy hunting ground for Triple Eight; the Banyo squad was last beaten at the historic Victorian venue in 2017 when Cameron Waters and Richie Stanaway combined to win for Prodrive Racing Australia (now Tickford Racing).  

If McLaughlin’s record remains intact, it could stand for quite some time yet.

McLaughlin on his way to becoming the youngest race winner in ATCC/V8 championship history at Pukekohe in 2013. This car raced in Australia, New Zealand and the United States and will add the United Kingdom to its list of racing destinations soon! Photo: an1images.com / Justin Deeley.

The youngest driver thus far locked in for the 2022 Repco Bathurst 1000 is Jaylyn Robotham, who will join Matt Chahda for a wildcard effort.

Robotham, though, was born only three days after Feeney, so will not be able to challenge for youngest race winner honours.

Those two, and Grove Racing’s Matt Payne, will all turn 20 this October.

Payne is tipped to be the youngest full-timer on the grid next year.

The next driver who may have a shot at the record could be Erebus Academy talent Jay Hanson.

If he can find himself on the Great Race grid next year, he’d have just turned 19.

Also in the pipeline is Super3 Series leader Kai Allen, who already has a deal in place with Eggleston Motorsport to graduate to the second-tier next season.

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.