Marcos Ambrose, 2003 V8 Supercar Champion.

STONE Brothers Racing was one of the top teams in V8 Supercar racing, claiming three Driver’s Championships via Marcos Ambrose (2003/2004) and Russell Ingall (2005).

Formed after Ross and Jim Stone bought out previous partner Alan Jones in what had been known as Alan Jones Racing, SBR began in V8 Supercar racing under the SBR banner in 1998 with a single Pirtek Falcon EL for Jason Bright and a Mitre 10 entry for Mark Larkham.

Over the years many amazing drivers came through their workshop and drove their Falcons prior to the team selling out to Erebus Motorsport at the end of 2012.

So, V8 Sleuth thought it timely to go for a dig through the AN1 Images photo archives – via the website here to purchase prints of motorsports of all sorts – and grab a pile of SBR memories from the vault. Enjoy!

With over 20 years in the Australian motorsport industry, Noonan is the head of V8 Sleuth. He’s held a range of roles including working in television with Seven and Ten, print media and public relations. With a specialty in Australian motorsport history, he’s known around racing paddocks as ’the Sleuth’ and started his motorsport media career in 1997.