10.4 C
Mount Panorama
Wednesday, April 24, 2024
HomeNewsGoddard leads Triple Eight trifecta

Goddard leads Triple Eight trifecta

ZANE Goddard has made his mark early in the Sandown 500 with a stunning effort in the first dedicated co-driver practice.

Goddard was 0.3376s clear at the end of Practice 2, which was slightly shortened after a witches hat was knocked loose by Jake Kostecki through the Turn 6/7/8 complex.

That denied others the chance to improve late, but nevertheless it was a fine performance by Goddard as he got within a tenth of Broc Feeney’s Practice 1 pace-setting time.

All told, it was a dominant display by Triple Eight, which locked out the top three positions, while Camaros accounted for nine spots in the top 10.

Triple Eight was fast out of the blocks, with Richie Stanaway and Jamie Whincup making it an early one-two before the session was halted.

Red flags were waved with just under 25 minutes remaining in the half-hour hitout, with Zak Best the cause.

Driving the #5 Tickford Racing Mustang of James Courtney, Super2 Series leader Best locked up into Turn 9 and nosed the car into the tyre barriers.


Stanaway did not better his 1:09.6482s thereafter but was only eclipsed by Goddard.

The #888 Supercheap Auto co-driver then substantially improved on his second flying lap – despite a mistake – to lob in a 1:09.3106s.

“Look, I made a bit of a mistake over at the back corner so there’s definitely a bit of time in it, but the car is feeling really good,” said Goddard.

“It’s a positive way to start, we’ve still got another practice this arvo so keep building on it, but it’s good.”

Walkinshaw Andretti United’s Lee Holdsworth was fourth, and the only Ford in the top 10.

Best ended up 21st but was able to get back out after a brief period spent in the garage.

Others to encounter moments were Kevin Estre and Garry Jacobson, who both ran off through the grass at Turns 2/3.

The third and final practice session today will be open to all drivers, starting 3:45pm.

Results: Practice 2, 2023 Sandown 500

1888Zane GoddardTriple EightChevrolet1m09.3106s
297Richie StanawayTriple EightChevrolet+0.3376s
388Jamie WhincupTriple EightChevrolet+0.4813s
425Lee HoldsworthWAUFord+0.5151s
534Jayden OjedaMSRChevrolet+0.6032s
623Jonathon WebbPremiAirChevrolet+0.6258s
718Michael CarusoTeam 18Chevrolet+0.6533s
89Jack PerkinsErebusChevrolet+0.7141s
999David RussellErebusChevrolet+0.7638s
104Jaxon EvansBJRChevrolet+0.7727s
1111Tony D’AlbertoDJRFord+0.7821s
1296Jordan BoysBJRChevrolet+0.8535s
1320Warren LuffTeam 18Chevrolet+0.8736s
146James MoffatTickfordFord+0.8946s
152Fabian CoulthardWAUFord+0.8963s
168Dale WoodBJRChevrolet+0.9511s
173Tim BlanchardBRTFord+1.0777s
1814Dean FioreBJRChevrolet+1.0921s
1919Kevin EstreGroveFord+1.1255s
207Jake KosteckiBRTFord+1.1365s
215Zak BestTickfordFord+1.1958s
2226Garth TanderGroveFord+1.2844s
2317Alex DavisonDJRFord+1.3561s
2431Dylan O’KeeffePremiAirChevrolet+1.3915s
2556Tyler EveringhamTickfordFord+1.4982s
2655Garry JacobsonTickfordFord+1.669s
2735Jaylyn RobothamMSRChevrolet+2.0372s

V8 Sleuth’s coverage of the 2023 Penrite Oil Sandown 500 is proudly presented by Biante – Fuel your passion with winning model cars. Visit Biante here to check out their range of model cars in a range of scales from 1:64 to 1:10.

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.