14.6 C
Mount Panorama
Saturday, May 25, 2024


THE 2023 Repco Supercars Championship driver line-up is taking shape even after the latest shock twist.

As it stands, likely or confirmed candidates can be attached to all but one seat for next season.

That’s despite just 12 of the 25 cockpits having been formally filled.

Carrying continuity into Gen3 will be Triple Eight Race Engineering, Dick Johnson Racing, Walkinshaw Andretti United and Erebus Motorsport.

Team 18 and Brad Jones Racing have also indicated they’ll make no changes to their rosters, and it could be the same story for Tickford Racing which has its current quartet under contract – but is also mulling promoting its Super2 ace Zak Best.

James Courtney had appeared most vulnerable of the Tickford fleet but his recent form combined with the relationship he has struck up with backer Snowy River Caravans has strengthened his position.

But the big news of the past 24 hours is how Matt Stone Racing’s plans have altered course, given Todd Hazelwood has requested permission to pursue an opportunity with the Blanchard Racing Team.

BRT had a vacancy with Tim Slade bound for PremiAir Racing and potential replacement Lee Holdsworth retiring.

The Hazelwood news is a bitter blow to the likes of Zane Goddard and Fabian Coulthard who had been hunting a full-time return, with the new seat opening up at MSR set to be snapped up by a rising star out of Super2.

As for PremiAir, it is yet to make comment on either of its 2023 seats, but James Golding is thought to be a logical option to continue having thoroughly impressed team owner Peter Xiberras.

Provisional 2023 Repco Supercars Championship field:

Notes: Sorted by current teams’ championship order; italics denotes likely but not confirmed

Triple Eight Race EngineeringBroc FeeneyChevrolet
Shane van GisbergenChevrolet
Dick Johnson RacingAnton De PasqualeFord
Will DavisonFord
Tickford RacingCameron WatersFord
James CourtneyFord
Thomas RandleFord
Jake KosteckiFord
Walkinshaw Andretti UnitedChaz MostertFord
Nick PercatFord
Grove RacingDavid ReynoldsFord
Matt PayneFord
Erebus MotorsportWill BrownChevrolet
Brodie KosteckiChevrolet
Team 18Mark WinterbottomChevrolet
Scott PyeChevrolet
Brad Jones RacingAndre HeimgartnerChevrolet
Bryce FullwoodChevrolet
Macauley JonesChevrolet
Jack SmithChevrolet
Matt Stone RacingJack Le BrocqChevrolet
PremiAir RacingTim SladeChevrolet
James GoldingChevrolet
Blanchard Racing TeamTodd HazelwoodFord
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.