Scott McLaughlin will take a 305 point advantage to Bathurst in October. Photo: Supercars/Mark Horsburgh

SCOTT McLaughlin became the 2020 Virgin Australia Supercars Champion-elect today at The Bend Motorsport Park with a second place in Race 30 of the championship to fellow Mustang racer Cameron Waters.

By clinching his third championship in a row – which will become official barring an absolute disaster or some form of points penalty at Bathurst – McLaughlin has written himself into a special place in the record books of the Australian Touring Car Championship and Supercars Championship.

– He’s the first Ford driver to win three straight championships since Ian Geoghegan, who won four in a row from 1966-1969.

– He’s just the fourth driver in championship history to win three titles in a row – he joins Ian Geoghegan, Mark Skaife and Jamie Whincup in achieving this.

– He becomes just the 10th driver in championship history to win the championship three or more times.

– It’s the 10th time a DJR/DJR Team Penske driver has won the Drivers Championship – Dick Johnson won 5, McLaughlin 3 and singles to Bowe and Courtney.

– It’s the first time DJR/DJR Team Penske has ever won 3 Drivers Championships in a row – DJR won back-to-back with Johnson in 1981/82 and then again in 1988/89 but has never won three in a row until this year.

– It’s Ford’s record 27th Australian Touring Car Championship/Supercars Championship championship win.

 – It’s the 7th Australian Touring Car Championship/Supercars Championship championship win for Mustang (1965-1969, 2019-2020).

McLaughlin will head to Bathurst without the championship to worry about and a 305-point advantage over Jamie Whincup with 300 points on the line in the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

Tim Slade will co-drive with McLaughlin in the #17 Mustang it what may very well be McLaughlin’s final appearance in Supercars with a future beckoning in the IndyCar Series in the United States.

LIMITED STOCK: Order your copy here now of the official 2020 Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 Program. 

With over 20 years in the Australian motorsport industry, Noonan is the head of V8 Sleuth. He’s held a range of roles including working in television with Seven and Ten, print media and public relations. With a specialty in Australian motorsport history, he’s known around racing paddocks as ’the Sleuth’ and started his motorsport media career in 1997.