Jim Pollicina's ex-Triple Eight Commodore ran in this retro Brock HDT livery at Bathurst in 2012 driven by Craig Lowndes and Warren Luff. Photo: Australian Motor Racing Series.

A FIELD of 11 ex-V8 Supercars has entered for the first round of the Kumho Tyre V8 Classic Racing Series at Sydney Motorsport Park this weekend.

To be held as part of the Australian Motor Racing Series bill, the series has been created as a separate category to Super3/V8 Touring Cars and has attracted cars from varied eras from V8 Supercar history.

Super3 Series regulars Jim Pollicina (ex-Craig Lowndes Vodafone Commodore VE II) and Michael Anderson (ex-FPR Falcon FG) have entered to compete in this weekend’s opening round, while former Development Series driver Shane Beikoff makes a return to V8 racing in his ex-Harris Racing Falcon AU.

Beikoff’s team will also run an ex-DJR Jim Beam FG Falcon for Jarrad Danaher, the car most recently raced in Super3 by Jon McCorkindale.

The 2012 Bathurst 1000 runner-up Bottle-O Falcon of Damien Grima is entered to run, so too is Ray Hislop in his ex-Larkham Orrcon Falcon.

Jason Foley (ex-Jim Beam Falcon BF), Francois Habib (ex-Whincup Dodo Tasman Commodore VZ), Stuart Inwood (ex-Caltex SBR Falcon AU), Derek Hocking (VE Commodore) and Andy Cantrell (ex-FPR Falcon BF) round out the field.

The Kumho Tyre V8 Classic Racing Series competitors will have two 10 lap races on Saturday morning in Sydney before an 18-lap finale in the afternoon.

With over 20 years in the Australian motorsport industry, Noonan is the head of V8 Sleuth. He’s held a range of roles including working in television with Seven and Ten, print media and public relations. With a specialty in Australian motorsport history, he’s known around racing paddocks as ’the Sleuth’ and started his motorsport media career in 1997.