10.2 C
Mount Panorama
Wednesday, June 19, 2024
HomeNewsMostert finishes first but Waters wins Perth finale

Mostert finishes first but Waters wins Perth finale

CAM Waters has won the Sunday leg of the Perth SuperSprint after an unsafe release cost Chaz Mostert a cleansweep.  

It was a good start for Tickford Racing, with polesitter Waters fending off Mostert into Turn 1 while Thomas Randle cleared Will Brown on the row behind.

That advantage didn’t last long, with Mostert seizing the lead by pouncing on Waters when the Monster Mustang ran wide at the end of the first lap.

From there Mostert stretched his legs to gap Waters, who initially had Randle on his tail before things stabilised.

Jack Le Brocq was the biggest mover early, up 22nd to 17th, before his horror weekend took yet another turn for the worse.

Le Brocq spun at Turn 6 after contact with Nick Percat, in an incident which the latter was penalised 15 seconds for.

Completing Erebus Motorsport’s Perth nightmare, Brodie Kostecki pitted from fifth – not for tyres, but to retire the car with a mechanical issue well before the halfway mark.

Kostecki aside, Ryan Wood was the highest-placed car to stop in the first half of the race, from seventh, as he tried the undercut strategy.

All the while, Wood’s teammate Mostert was comfortable at the front of the field… until a pitstop roll of the dice turned the race on its head.

WAU opted to change all four tyres on Mostert’s car, while Tickford went for a quicker two-tyre stop.

That made for a very tight release from Mostert’s pit box, enough that the #25 Mustang was stung with a five-second penalty for an unsafe release.

Tickford soon pitted Waters for four tyres, meaning he came out behind Mostert and Randle to set up an intriguing run to the flag.

Waters got back ahead of Randle on Lap 38, at which point the Monster Mustang was 4.3s behind Mostert – effectively leading the race by 0.7s.

For the first time in a dry race this year, the Triple Eight Camaros were not a factor in the victory stakes, with Brown recovering to fourth once he rounded up the undercutting Wood.

So, other than some wild racing back in the pack, the full focus became a time attack-style of race between Mostert and Waters.

With 10 laps to go, it looked likely to go Waters’ way, with the gap down to 3.5s.

Entering the final five laps, the margin was 2.9s – although there was now no danger of dropping lower than second for Mostert after a heated exchange for third as Randle got the elbows out in a bid to hang onto a podium.

That battle culminated in Brown tapping the back of the defensive Castrol Mustang at Turn 7, causing Randle to lose multiple spots.

Brown was pinged with a five-second penalty but such was his margin over fourth-placed Will Davison that he did not lose position.

Randle fought tooth and nail to come home fifth ahead of Anton De Pasquale, Broc Feeney and Wood, as Mostert took the chequered flag with 2.4115s in hand.

That meant the top two spots would be flipped, with Waters officially winning by 2.5885s.

The circumstances for Waters are somewhat ironic, given how he lost a race win in Perth two years ago by virtue of a time penalty.

On top of Mostert and Brown, there was one other time penalty to be applied at the end: 15 seconds for milestone man Tim Slade for an unsafe release.

Brown will take an extended 136-point lead over Feeney into Darwin, while Waters’ weekend results have propelled him from 15th to fourth in the championship.

RESULTS: Race 2, 2024 Bosch Power Tools Perth SuperSprint

16Cam WatersTickfordFord55 laps
225Chaz MostertWAUFord+2.5885s
387Will BrownTriple EightChevrolet+11.0466s
417Will DavisonDJRFord+12.1004s
555Thomas Randle TickfordFord+16.8024s
611Anton De PasqualeDJRFord+17.2041s
788Broc Feeney Triple EightChevrolet+17.4460s
82Ryan Wood WAUFord+19.4364s
919Matt PayneGroveFord+25.2710s
1020David ReynoldsTeam 18Chevrolet+25.9148s
114Cameron Hill MSRChevrolet+26.8324s
1226Richie StanawayGroveFord+31.4111s
133Aaron LoveBRTFord+32.6248s
147James CourtneyBRTFord+34.4077s
158Andre HeimgartnerBJRChevrolet+39.9162s
1631James Golding PremiAirChevrolet+42.7459s
1714Bryce FullwoodBJRChevrolet+43.5833s
1812Jaxon Evans BJRChevrolet+44.8905s
1996Macauley JonesBJRChevrolet+45.7366s
2018Mark WinterbottomTeam 18Chevrolet+46.3817s
2110Nick PercatMSRChevrolet+46.4956s
22200Tim SladePremiAirChevrolet+55.4091s
239Jack Le BrocqErebusChevrolet+1 lap
241Brodie KosteckiErebusChevroletDNF
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.