4 C
Mount Panorama
Wednesday, May 29, 2024


FOR the first time in six years, a driver sits at the top of the Repco Supercars Championship standings for the first time in their career – Chaz Mostert.

After a win and a third placing at Sydney Motorsport Park in round one, Mostert broke a 167 race streak of the Supercars Championship points leader being either a DJR Team Penske or Triple Eight Race Engineering driver.

The last time a non-DJRTP or T8 driver led the championship was Mark Winterbottom for Prodrive Racing Australia (now Tickford Racing) after race two at Winton in 2016.

Winterbottom, Will Davison and James Courtney all last led the championship during the 2016 season, while Shane van Gisbergen’s most recent time in the lead of the championship came after winning race one at SMP this year.

Davison was last atop the standings after round two of the championship at Symmons Plains in 2016 for Tekno, while Courtney led after race two at the 2016 Clipsal 500.

Courtney’s race two win in 2016 was the last time a Walkinshaw Andretti United driver had led the championship, back when the team was known as the Holden Racing Team.

Mostert is only the 39th driver in Supercars/Australian Touring Car Championship history to lead the drivers championship, however only 25 have ever been crowned champion.

Mostert also joins Davison as the only currently active drivers to have led the championship but to have not won it so far.

The last time a driver led the championship for the very first time in their Supercars career occurred after race one at Winton in 2016, with Scott McLaughlin leading the championship for Garry Rogers Motorsport and Volvo.

Four notable drivers in the current field have not sat higher than second in the championship points in their careers – Anton De Pasquale (in 2022) David Reynolds (2018), Lee Holdsworth (2009) and Cameron Waters (2020).

Along with Mostert, De Pasquale, Will Brown, Brodie Kostecki and Thomas Randle left SMP this year recording their best championship position in their career throughout the weekend.

Round two will be held at Symmons Plains on March 26/27 with three 44 lap races to be held.

Mostert leads the 2022 championship by 12 points over De Pasquale with reigning champion van Gisbergen holding third, 27 points behind.

Chaz Mostert1st2022 SMP
Shane van Gisbergen1st2022 SMP
Will Davison1st2016 Symmons Plains
Mark Winterbottom1st2016 Winton
James Courtney1st2016 Adelaide
Cameron Waters2nd2020 Bathurst
David Reynolds2nd2018 Phillip Island
Lee Holdsworth2nd2009 Hamilton
Anton De Pasquale2nd2022 SMP
Brodie Kostecki4th2022 SMP
Nick Percat4th2020 SMP 2
Bryce Fullwood5th2021 Bathurst 500
Tim Slade5th2019 Symmons Plains
Scott Pye5th2018 Darwin
Jack Le Brocq6th2021 Bathurst 500
Will Brown7th2022 SMP
Andre Heimgartner7th2021 Sandown
Broc Feeney (R)*9th2022 SMP
Todd Hazelwood10th2021 Bathurst 500
Jake Kostecki13th2021 Bathurst 500
Macauley Jones16th2020 SMP 2
Thomas Randle (R)*17th2022 SMP
Jack Smith17th2022 SMP
Chris Pither17th2016 Gold Coast
Garry Jacobson18th2022 SMP
*Full-time Supercars rookie

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.