6.3 C
Mount Panorama
Sunday, April 14, 2024
HomeNewsNew driver for VB Commodore

New driver for VB Commodore

TOURING Car Masters will welcome back a race-winning driver and historic car in a new combination for this weekend’s Winton round.

Adam Garwood will make his first appearance in TCM since 2021, and that will come in the Holden VB Commodore last raced by Gerard McLeod at the 2022 Adelaide 500.

Now donning the #2, the car will be entered under the Garwood Racing banner.

It’s one of 16 entries for Round 3 at Winton, a marked improvement on the nine-car field at the Symmons Plains season-opener and 12 for Newcastle.

Besides Garwood, others making their first start of 2023 are Warren Trewin (HQ Monaro GTS 350) and Dave Hender (Ford Falcon XY GTHO).

Steven Johnson leads the standings by 44 points from Ryan Hansford, with Marcus Zukanovic, Cameron Tilley and Andrew Fisher rounding out the top five.

John Bowe is sixth and is preparing for his final TCM start at Winton, where he has previously tasted success.

“I love Winton as a track, it’s a bit frightening to say I first raced there in 1979 and I’ve raced there every year since then. I’ve had a lot of good memories and a couple of bad ones,” Bowe recently told the official TCM website.

“I love the track and I love the people and officials because they are all very pleasant. Also, the country folk who come in numbers are really enthusiastic, which is great.”

“I could drive around Winton in my sleep, I can’t wait because we have had a bit of a break from Newcastle so I’m hopeful of being competitive.

“As for the competition, Steve Johnson is the man to beat.

“I’d like to say I tested and sorted out that Mustang and recommended that he drives it when it was in development.

“It’s come back to bite me in the arm but he’s a good friend so I don’t really mind the success he has – but I’d like to think I can beat him.”

The Winton SpeedSeries round on June 9-11 will also feature categories including Kumho V8 Touring Car Series, National Trans Am, TCR Australia and S5000.

Entry list: TCM Round 3, Winton Motor Raceway

2Garwood RacingAdam GarwoodHolden VB Commodore
3Western General Body WorksDanny BuzadzicHolden Torana A9X
6Multispares RacingRyan HansfordHolden Torana A9X
12Depulu Wheel Reconditioners Gold CoastPeter BurnittHolden Torana A9X
15Jesus RacingAndrew FisherHolden Torana A9X
18Rare Spares/Paynter Dixon/Local LegendsJohn BoweHolden Torana SL/R 5000
33Hancock RacingSteven JohnsonFord Mustang Trans Am
53Pearcedale Plant Hire/Move myLoadDave HenderFord Falcon XY GTHO
55Bullet Trailers RacingJohn AdamsFord Falcon XY GT
60Anglomoil Superior LubricantsCameron TilleyValiant Pacer
70High Performance MotorsportIan PriceFord Escort Mk II
71R&J Batteries/Action Motor IndustriesMarcus ZukanovicFord XD Falcon
77SNB Berryman RacingWarren TrewinHolden HQ Monaro
85Daimler Trucks Adelaide/Ausblue/NTIGeoff FaneChevrolet Camaro SS
88TIFS Third Party LogisticsTony KaranfilovskiFord Mustang Trans Am
95Daimler Trucks Adelaide/Ausblue/NTIAdam BressingtonChevrolet Camaro RS
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.