5.2 C
Mount Panorama
Friday, June 21, 2024


THE most winning car in Touring Car Masters history may soon have a new home.

Dubbed ‘Mustang Sally’, this special 1969 Ford Mustang Trans Am has been driven to six TCM title victories by John Bowe (2011, 2012, 2014) and Steven Johnson (2017, 2018, 2019).

According to Bowe, owner Tony Warne is considering selling the car. Originally brought into Australia by Drew Marget, it was built for Group N historic racing though reconfigured to suit the somewhat more liberal TCM rules in 2007.

“Just letting everyone know that Tony Warne, the owner of mighty Mustang Sally that myself and Stevie Johnson both raced to multiple victories in Touring Car Masters is considering selling,” Bowe wrote on his Facebook page on Sunday evening.

“She is a fantastic car with an incredible history with lots of records and is still more than capable of winning races today.

“It’s now a collector’s car of the highest order, especially with the value of Mustangs raced in the USA.

John Bowe at the wheel of ‘Mustang Sally’ at Hidden Valley in Darwin in 2010. Photo: an1images.com / Dirk Klynsmith.

“She has just been refreshed by Team Johnson and is ready and raring to go. Everyone in TCM would love to see Mustang Sally out there again.”

Bowe purchased the car from Marget and raced it from 2010 to 2015. It was parked for the majority of the ’15 season as well as 2016 before returning in Johnson’s hands in 2017.

Team Johnson has moved to its new Tru-Blu-inspired XD Falcon for this year’s Touring Car Masters, meaning the Mustang now sits idle.

The car has been raced by Marget, Bowe and Johnson but also by Stephen White (at Sandown 2013 after Bowe was benched for the weekend after a clash with an official) and Neil Crompton, who drove it at the Muscle Car Masters in Sydney in 2015.

Steven Johnson heads Aaron Seton at Sandown in the 2019 Touring Car Masters series. Photo: an1images.com / Dirk Klynsmith.

Mustang Sally’s TCM record is astounding – according to Race Torque Media’s Richard Craill, the car has scored 36 round wins from 82 starts and 94 race wins from 253 starts.

The car also holds the record for the most TCM race wins in a single season – 14 – achieved by Bowe in 2012 and Johnson in 2018.

It also scored nine consecutive pole positions across the 2013 to 2015 seasons, a TCM category record.

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.