The Ambrose Falcon will be back on track at Winton with a very familiar face…

THE 2001 Bathurst 1000 pole-sitting Pirtek Falcon AU will be part of the Australian Five-Litre Touring Car Association’s next appearance at the Winton Festival of Speed on August 8-10.

And sorry to V8 Sleuth fans who may have thought Marcos Ambrose was sneaking back into the country for a steer of the Falcon he raced in 2001 and 2002!

Ambrose’s 2001 Bathurst co-driver Wayne Wakefield has agreed to take the controls of the #4 Ford at Winton as part of the Association’s next demo event.

The Stone Brothers Racing-built Falcon is now owned by collector Dean Montgomery and features among an interesting entry list of cars for Winton.

A healthy list of cars has confirmed for the event including returning ex-Castrol Cougar Melinda Price, who drove Keith Linnell’s Supercheap Auto Falcon EL at the Phillip Island Classic in March and will again be its pilot at Winton.

David Holc – known for racing his ex GIO Commodore VL in the Heritage Touring Cars category – will debut his ex-Holden Young Lions, John Faulkner Racing-built Commodore VX, while Milton Seferis will give his recently-acquired ex-Mark Skaife, SEGA Commodore its first run on-track.

The 1997 Australian Touring Car Championship-winning Ford Credit Falcon of Glenn Seton will make its first appearance with the Association in the hands of owner Noel Willoughby, while Tasmanian Gary Cannan will bring his recently-restored ex-Ampol Max 3 VP Commodore across from the Apple Isle.

Chris Smerdon has restored his ex-Stone Brothers Racing Falcon AU to its 2002 Caltex Havoline colours while fellow former V8 Supercar privateer Mike Imrie will again compete in his ex-Wynn’s/Gibson Commodore.

His son Harrison will make his first appearance in a V8 in the Delta Europcar Commodore his father formerly raced, which was driven by Elliot Barbour at Phillip Island in March.

Also entered are: Troy Stapleton (ex-DJR Falcon EL), Troy Kelly (ex-PJ Falcon EF), Allen Nash (ex-Truckie Parsons Commodore), Geoff Munday (ex-CAT Falcon AU), Kane Fitzgerald (ex-Hungry Jacks Commodore), Angelo Taranto (ex-Smerdon Commodore VS) and Bruce Heinrich (ex-Supercheap Auto Falcon AU).

There remains the potential of a few more cars joining the Winton field ahead of the event.

With field numbers for their demos now approaching 20 cars, the Association – formed last year – is quickly moving ahead in leaps and bounds.

V8 Sleuth strives to both preserve and celebrate Australian motorsport’s rich history, from tracking and tracing the race-by-race histories and changing ownership of individual cars, to capturing and retelling the stories of the people who made our sport what it is today.