4.5 C
Mount Panorama
Tuesday, May 28, 2024


Erebus Motorsport larrikin earns pair of gongs at Supercars’ night of nights …


DAVID Reynolds took home both his second straight Barry Sheene Medal as well as the Drivers’ Driver Award at the season-ending Supercars Gala Awards, held this year at The Westin in Sydney on Monday night.

The 33-year-old Erebus Motorsport driver enjoyed a stellar year on track, recording three race wins – including the season finale at the Coates Hire Newcastle 500 – five pole positions and nine podium finishes to a career-best fifth place finish in the championship standings.

After being announced as the Barry Sheene Medallist for the second year in a row, Reynolds was also revealed as the recipient of the drivers’ vote for the best of their peers for the season, won on a countback against the retiring Craig Lowndes.

“It’s a real honour for me to be honoured by my peers,” Reynolds said. “The Driver’s Driver is a good award, hopefully it sticks around for awhile.

“My best battle this year was when Lowndesy went around the outside of me at Turns 9-10-11 at Pukekohe.

“The old boy’s got some balls. He stuck it out; I tried to give him a nudge but he was hard in the gas around the outside. It was a good move. I’ll miss him next year.”

Reynolds was one of many award winners on the night with Scott McLaughlin honoured for winning this year’s Supercars Championship, while another Kiwi, Garry Rogers Motorsport’s Chris Pither was recognised for winning his first Dunlop Super2 Series title.

The late Tom Walkinshaw, the influential motorsport figure who helped establish one of Supercars greatest ever teams, was inducted into the Supercars Hall of Fame, with the award accepted by his son, current Walkinshaw Andretti United team co-owner, Ryan Walkinshaw, and his wife Martine.

Rising Dunlop Super2 Series star Thomas Randle from Tickford Racing won the coveted Mike Kable Young Gun Award following a standout rookie year, while Ryal Harris claimed the inaugural ECB SuperUtes title.

The spectacular return of night racing, the Red Rooster Sydney Supernight 300, was awarded the 2018 Best Event by fans and McLaughlin voted by the fans as the Most Popular driver.

2018 Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Series Awards

Barry Sheene Medal: David Reynolds, Penrite Erebus Motorsport

2018 Supercars Champion: Scott McLaughlin

Champion Team Award: Red Bull Holden Racing Team

Supercars Drivers’ Driver: David Reynolds

2018 Supercars ARMOR ALL Pole Position: Scott McLaughlin, Shell V-Power Racing

Hall of Fame Inductee: Tom Walkinshaw

Champion Manufacturer of the Year: Holden

Most Popular Driver – Fan’s Choice: Scott McLaughlin

Best Event – Fan’s Choice: Red Rooster Sydney SuperNight 300

Mike Kable Young Gun: Thomas Randle, Tickford Racing

Dunlop Super2 Series Champion: Chris Pither, Garry Rogers Motorsport

2018 Dunlop Super2 ARMOR ALL Pole Position: Chris Pither, Garry Rogers Motorsport

ECB SuperUtes Series Champion: Ryal Harris

Boost Mobile Supercars E-Series Winner: Matthew Bink

Best Presented Team – Fan’s Choice: Shell V-Power Racing

Supercars Media Award: Ian O’Brien

Virgin Australia Best Volunteer Group: CrownBet Darwin Triple Crown

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.