6.2 C
Mount Panorama
Monday, May 27, 2024


SHANE van Gisbergen struck back for Red Bull Ampol Racing this morning but the story was still all about Will Davison and the Shell V-Power Racing Team.

Van Gisbergen capitalised on a dramatic Qualifying for Race 25 as Saturday star Davison was forced to abandon his late flyer due to an electrical issue.

Smoke billowed out of the #17 Mustang to the point that Davison had to hold his driver’s side door open while trundling down pit lane, dropping from second to 11th as others improved.

Van Gisbergen took full advantage to set a new qualifying lap record – a 1:07.4467s – to narrowly deny Cameron Waters from notching Tickford Racing’s 100th pole.

It was in fact the closest qualifying margin ever for a championship race at Sandown, just 0.0138s separating the #97 and #6 drivers.

Shane van Gisbergen. Pic: Nathan Wong

James Golding was the other feel-good story, taking eighth for PremiAir Racing’s best qualifying result to date.

For the second rapid-fire session, which set the grid for Race 26, Dick Johnson Racing bounced back from 11th and 13th to put Davison and De Pasquale one and three this time, sandwiching van Gisbergen.

Davison reclaimed the qualifying lap record too with a 1:07.2078s, a remarkable recovery from what had appeared to be disaster just 20 minutes earlier.

Team 18 continued its solid weekend with Mark Winterbottom fourth and Scott Pye 10th, the latter having been fifth in the earlier session.

Race 25 grid (1:05pm AEST start)

1. Shane van Gisbergen
2. Cameron Waters
3. Chaz Mostert
4. Broc Feeney
5. Scott Pye
6. David Reynolds
7. Will Brown
8. James Golding
9. Andre Heimgartner
10. Brodie Kostecki
11. Will Davison
12. Mark Winterbottom
13. Anton De Pasquale
14. James Courtney
15. Jack Le Brocq
16. Macauley Jones
17. Tim Slade
18. Chris Pither
19. Bryce Fullwood
20. Thomas Randle
21. Nick Percat
22. Todd Hazelwood
23. Lee Holdsworth
24. Jake Kostecki
25. Jack Smith

Race 26 grid (4:20pm AEST start)

1. Will Davison
2. Shane van Gisbergen
3. Anton De Pasquale
4. Mark Winterbottom
5. Chaz Mostert
6. Cameron Waters
7. David Reynolds
8. Thomas Randle
9. Broc Feeney
10. Scott Pye
11. Will Brown
12. Tim Slade
13. Jake Kostecki
14. Andre Heimgartner
15. James Golding
16. Lee Holdsworth
17. Nick Percat
18. James Courtney
19. Todd Hazelwood
20. Brodie Kostecki
21. Macauley Jones
22. Jack Le Brocq
23. Bryce Fullwood
24. Chris Pither
25. Jack Smith

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.