16.3 C
Mount Panorama
Saturday, April 20, 2024
HomeNewsThe notable record Courtney is sneaking up on

The notable record Courtney is sneaking up on

FOR a matter of hours in Melbourne, James Courtney moved into equal second on an impressive ATCC/Supercars Championship record list.

That is, most successive seasons with a podium in a championship race, Courtney having got his hands on silverware at least once in every single year since his full-time debut in 2006.

That 17-year run has him currently tied for third with Jamie Whincup and Garth Tander, and the Tickford Racing veteran can join Mark Skaife in equal second with a podium sometime this season.

Courtney appeared to have done just that during Round 2 at Albert Park, when he finished runner-up to Brodie Kostecki in the Friday leg of the Melbourne SuperSprint.

That came unstuck however when Courtney was handed a post-race time penalty for a first-corner incident, relegating him to 22nd.

NEWS: Supercars announces pre-Perth parity tweak

There should be plenty more opportunities for the 42-year-old though, starting with the upcoming Perth SuperSprint, where Courtney threatened to steal a remarkable win last year before having to settle for second.

He does have quite some way to go to topple the all-time leader of podiums in successive seasons, with Craig Lowndes atop the list on 22.

For reference, Lewis Hamilton holds the record in Formula 1, with 17 (2007-23).

Tickford CEO Tim Edwards drew a parallel with another F1 world champion when discussing the evergreen Courtney.

“The reality is, dare I say it, no different to (Fernando) Alonso, just because they’re of an older generation doesn’t mean they have lost their ability,” Edwards told V8 Sleuth.

“I think from the second he hopped into this Gen3 car he has actually enjoyed driving it.”

MORE: Courtney recounts Albert Park inferno

A quick glance at the standings sees Courtney buried in 24th, thanks largely to two DNS results already, a ranking which is far from representative of the pace he’s shown.

“I have been in this game long enough to not really be looking at the championship at this point,” a philosophical Courtney told V8 Sleuth.

“Although it is shit and has put us back a long way, there’s still a lot of the season to go.”

Most successive seasons with an ATCC/Supercars Championship podium:

Craig Lowndes: 22, 1998-2019
Mark Skaife: 18, 1991-2008
Jamie Whincup: 17, 2005-2021
Garth Tander: 17, 2004-2020
James Courtney: 17, 2006-2022

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.