6.8 C
Mount Panorama
Thursday, May 30, 2024


NASH Morris claimed the Dunlop Super3 Series title on the weekend at Bathurst, however the series itself racked up a significant milestone that was lost within the huge behemoth that is Repco Bathurst 1000 race week.

The race on Saturday afternoon (won by Image Racing Falcon driver Reef McCarthy, his first race win in the series) was, in fact, the 200th race in series history, dating back to its beginnings as the V8 Touring Car Series that debuted at Mallala in 2008.

Originally set up as a series for ex-V8 Supercars from the V8 Supercars Championship Series and Development Series, the series was run as part of the Shannons Nationals for many years.

It later started competing at selected rounds of the Supercars Championship and was rebranded as Super3 in 2019. 

The category started competing together with Super2 sharing the same tracks at the same times last year, a scenario that continued into this year’s series.

Image Racing owner Terry Wyhoon holds the record for most V8 Touring Car/Super3 Series race wins – 21 – followed by Ryan Simpson (19), Chris Smerdon (13), Jack Smith (12), Josh Hunter and Tony Evangelou (10 apiece).

The V8 Touring Car Series in action at Mallala in 2009. Chris Smerdon heads the pack in the ex-Caltex SBR Falcon AU. Photo: Supplied.

Nash Morris was crowned 2021 champion at Bathurst, finishing clear in the points of Super3 Cup champ Michael Anderson, McCarthy, Blake Fardell and Jim Pollicina.

Morris, the son of 2014 Bathurst 1000 winner Paul, won four of the five Super3 rounds this year – both Townsville rounds, Sydney Motorsport Park and Bathurst.

Jon McCorkindale won round one at Bathurst before purchasing a Commodore to move into Super2.

Morris’ series-winning FG Falcon is the same car that Broc Feeney used to win the series in 2019.

No series winner was awarded in 2020 due to not enough rounds being held thanks to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic.

There were 10 races across five rounds that made up this year’s series with the race wins split between Morris (4), Anderson (2), Fardell (1), McCarthy (1) and McCorkindale (1).

The second race at Sydney Motorsport Park had no result declared due to the wet weather conditions and not enough laps being completed for a result to be declared.

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.