17.3 C
Mount Panorama
Saturday, February 24, 2024


TICKFORD Racing is set to reach a major milestone when the 2021 Repco Supercars Championship gets underway.

The season-opening Repco Mount Panorama 500 will mark the team’s 250th championship round start.

PRE-ORDER: Official 2021 Repco Supercars Championship Season Guide

EVERY CAR, EVERY DRIVER: 2021 Repco Supercars Championship Entry List

GALLERY: Your guide to all the 2021 Repco Supercars Championship liveries

The outfit now known as Tickford Racing was originally created for the 2003 season as Ford Performance Racing when UK-based motorsport powerhouse Prodrive bought out Glenn Seton Racing.

Craig Lowndes, Glenn Seton and David Besnard were its foundation drivers, and the three-car lineup represented FPR in its championship debut at the opening round of the 2003 season, the Clipsal 500 Adelaide.

Craig Lowndes took the team’s first win at Phillip Island in 2003, the team’s second championship event. Pic: an1images.com / Dirk Klynsmith

After competing as FPR and then Prodrive Racing Australia, the team adopted the Tickford Racing moniker for 2018 to align with the vehicle personalisation automotive brand with which it shares a common ownership group.

The team claimed its first Bathurst 1000 pole position in 2007. Pic: an1images.com / Dirk Klynsmith

The team’s 249 round starts to date have resulted in 551 race starts, a championship victory for Mark Winterbottom in 2015 plus a pair of Bathurst 1000 victories in 2013 and 2014.

Ford Performance Racing has won two Bathurst 1000s: 2013 with Mark Winterbottom/Steve Richards and 2014 with Chaz Mostert/Paul Morris. Pic: an1images.com / Dirk Klynsmith

In total, the team has amassed 74 championship race victories (fourth on the all-time list) and 86 pole positions (fourth all-time) – Cam Waters earnt the most recent of each at The Bend and Mount Panorama respectively in the final rounds of 2020.

The team claimed its first Supercars Championship title in 2015 with Mark Winterbottom, securing it at the final round of the season at Sydney Olympic Park. Pic: an1images.com / Dirk Klynsmith

Coincidentally, Waters and Will Davison’s second placing in last year’s ‘Great Race’ marked the team’s 250th championship round podium; Tickford is just the third team in ATCC/RSC history to reach that tally.

The Tickford team celebrates Cam Waters’ race win at The Bend in 2020. Pic: Supplied

In honour of the milestone, this week’s edition of the V8 Sleuth Podcast looks back at the team’s history.

Tim Edwards, the squad’s long-time Team Principal, joins the podcast to chat about his arrival at the team in 2005, its highs, its lows, its changing names and fortunes – and its biggest ‘superfan’!

Listen to the full episode below!

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News