6.8 C
Mount Panorama
Tuesday, June 25, 2024


Kumho Series non-points round attracts 14-car field at last minute …


THE Kumho V8 Touring Car Series has assembled a 14-car field at two week’s notice for next weekend’s Vodafone Gold Coast 600.

Signed late to the support bill to replace the Stadium Super Trucks, the V8 Touring Car category will compete in three races over the course of next weekend’s event.

The last two series champions will be on the grid next weekend too with 2018 winner Tyler Everingham to drive a MW Motorsport Falcon FG.

Brad Jones Racing will run 2017 series champion Jack Smith in one of its VE II Commodores with three other Championship class cars entered to be driven by Jon McCorkindale, Michael Anderson and Aussie Driver Search’s Kyle Austin.

Queenslander Shane Hunt plans to make his first appearance in the category this year in his ex-Triple Eight Falcon returned to 2005 Betta Electrical colours.

Seven Kumho Cup cars are entered including the Matt Stone Racing-run Falcons of Chris Smerdon and Bradley Neill and the returning Jack Sipp in his PMM-built Commodore.

Heritage class entries from Sean Fardell (Castrol Commodore VX) and Andy Cantrell (Ford Credit Falcon EL) round out the field.

The Kumho V8 Touring Cars will hit the track on the Gold Coast on Friday October 19 for first practice with another session later that afternoon.

Qualifying will be held on Saturday morning with Race 1 at 10.50am (local time) before the remaining two races are run on Sunday.

The Gold Coast event is not a round of the Kumho Series proper, which held its final of five rounds this year at The Bend Motorsport Park in August.

All three races will be covered live in the FOX Sports coverage of the Vodafone Gold Coast 600.

The Entry List:

4 Kumho Cup Edge Consulting Engineers Shane Hunt QLD Ford Falcon BF
8 Heritage Mr HDT Race Cars & Engines Sean Fardell NSW Commodore VX
9 Kumho Cup Neill Motorsport Bradley Neill QLD Ford Falcon FG
11 Championship Kenwood Homes Michael Anderson NSW Ford Falcon FG
21 Championship Brad Jones Racing/SCT Logistics Jack Smith QLD Commodore VE II
27 Championship MW Motorsport Tyler Everingham NSW Ford Falcon FG
39 Kumho Cup Vectra Corp Chris Smerdon SA Ford Falcon FG
56 Kumho Cup Coe Property Group Stephen Coe QLD Commodore VE
66 Kumho Cup Unichip Australia Jack Sipp QLD Commodore VE
69 Championship Dial Before You Dig/Mac Motorsport Jon McCorkindale NSW Ford Falcon FG
75 Kumho Cup B Strong Electrical Brendan Strong QLD Commodore VE II
77 Kumho Cup Protrack Automotive Performance Gary Collins VIC Commodore VE II
96 Championship Aussie Driver Search Kyle Austin QLD Ford Falcon FG
111 Heritage Custom Garage Andy Cantrell NSW Ford Falcon EL

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.