4 C
Mount Panorama
Wednesday, May 29, 2024


SHANE van Gisbergen is now a whopping 500 points clear atop the Repco Supercars Championship after sweeping the Sunday races at Sandown.

Van Gisbergen held off Will Davison this afternoon to inch closer to Scott McLaughlin’s all-time record of 18 race wins in a championship season set in 2019. The 33-year-old now has won 16 of 26 races, with another eight still to come.

His 70th career victory also has put the #97 Red Bull Ampol Racing driver in contention for the biggest points margin in history, Mark Skaife being the current record holder with his 658-point end-of-season advantage over Greg Murphy in 2002.

It was a remarkable day-on-day turnaround for van Gisbergen, who Davison beat by more than eight seconds yesterday.

Van Gisbergen grabbed the lead from Davison on Lap 2, a scrap which led to a wild moment as Anton De Pasquale was taken out of contention when he got airborne.

DJR tried to bring Davison back into contention by running him seven laps longer than the leader, and he was subsequently able to close up to 0.4611s by the chequered flag but couldn’t find a way past.

Shane van Gisbergen. Pic: Nathan Wong

Broc Feeney made it a double podium for Triple Eight, clinching third after Chaz Mostert and Cameron Waters had locked horns.

The duo didn’t collide this time but only because Waters took avoiding action upon locking up into Turn 9 as he attacked Mostert for third place.

Mostert came home fourth, behind Feeney, while Waters hung on for 10th – his 19th successive top 10 finish.

Team 18 completed a strong weekend with Mark Winterbottom fifth and Scott Pye seventh, Tim Slade sandwiched between them for his best result since Albert Park.

The Davison/De Pasquale contact was not the only piece of early race chaos, as a number of cars piled up at Turn 3.

The cause appeared to be a concertina effect which saw Nick Percat turn Jake Kostecki around, and Macauley Jones, Chris Pither and Todd Hazelwood all get parked up behind the Trade Mustang.

Percat’s race later took a bitter twist, suffering a power steering failure after he and James Courtney collided on the exit of Turn 3 on Lap 12.

Waters is now second in the championship, with Davison also leapfrogging De Pasquale.

Four rounds remain in 2022, starting with the last ever round at Pukekohe Park Raceway across September 9-11.

Race 26 results

1. Shane van Gisbergen
2. Will Davison
3. Broc Feeney
4. Chaz Mostert
5. Mark Winterbottom
6. Tim Slade
7. Scott Pye
8. Thomas Randle
9. David Reynolds
10. Cameron Waters
11. Will Brown
12. James Courtney
13. Andre Heimgartner
14. Bryce Fullwood
15. Jack Smith
16. Brodie Kostecki
17. Macauley Jones
18. Lee Holdsworth
19. James Golding
20. Jake Kostecki
21. Chris Pither
22. Nick Percat
23. Anton De Pasquale
24. Todd Hazelwood
NC. Jack Le Brocq

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.