11.2 C
Mount Panorama
Saturday, May 25, 2024
HomeNewsVan Gisbergen sets record pace in Adelaide Practice 2

Van Gisbergen sets record pace in Adelaide Practice 2

SHANE van Gisbergen denied Thomas Randle a sweep of practice at the VALO Adelaide 500 in a record-setting second session ahead of qualifying.

Tickford Racing rookie Randle ended up fastest in Thursday afternoon’s session after a late red flag prevented a host of drivers from posting a final time.

However, Randle proved his pace by again vaulting to the top of the order with a 1:19.2326s just over halfway through the 30-minute Friday afternoon Practice 2.

That made him the first driver under Chaz Mostert’s practice lap record set in 2020, with the new track surface providing drivers more grip.

It wasn’t enough to top the session though as van Gisbergen shaved another 0.0334s from the benchmark moments after the chequered flag fell.

Cam Waters ended up third fastest despite clouting the concrete at the exit of Turn 11 on what would have been his best lap.

“I was on a really good lap and just kept attacking,” said Waters, whose Monster Energy Mustang was left with a flesh wound to its right-rear corner.

“It’s practice so I was finding what the limits were, went a bit hard, it got loose and it spat me in the wall.

“It’s ok. We were on for a pretty good lap, I think it was going to be a 19.05-ish.”

Broc Feeney ended up fourth fastest ahead of Will Davison, Scott Pye, Mostert, Anton De Pasquale, James Golding and Andre Heimgartner.

The entire 25-car field was separated by 1.3 seconds, setting the stage for a tight qualifying battle from 5:35pm local time.

RESULTS: Practice 2, 2022 VALO Adelaide 500

11Shane van GisbergenTriple EightHolden1m19.1992s
255Thomas RandleTickfordFord+0.0334s
36Cam WatersTickfordFord+0.1022s
488Broc FeeneyTriple EightHolden+0.2759s
517Will DavisonDJRFord+0.2829s
620Scott PyeTeam 18Holden+0.3052s
725Chaz MostertWAUHolden+0.3998s
811Anton De PasqualeDJRFord+0.4618s
931James GoldingPremiAirHolden+0.4923s
108Andre HeimgartnerBJRHolden+0.5197s
1110Lee HoldsworthGroveFord+0.5234s
1234Jack Le BrocqMSRHolden+0.5508s
135James CourtneyTickfordFord+0.608s
1418Mark WinterbottomTeam 18Holden+0.8029s
1535Todd HazelwoodMSRHolden+0.8151s
1626David ReynoldsGroveFord+0.8161s
1799Brodie KosteckiErebusHolden+0.869s
1822Chris PitherPremiAirHolden+0.9077s
1914Bryce FullwoodBJRHolden+0.9416s
203Tim SladeBRTFord+0.9507s
2156Jake KosteckiTickfordFord+0.9749s
222Nick PercatWAUHolden+1.0119s
2396Macauley JonesBJRHolden+1.1201s
249Will BrownErebusHolden+1.1437s
254Jack SmithBJRHolden+1.3197s
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.