4 C
Mount Panorama
Wednesday, May 29, 2024


SHANE van Gisbergen has taken an incredible victory in the last ever Repco Supercars Championship race at Pukekohe Park Raceway.

From eighth on the grid, van Gisbergen sealed the deal with a gutsy pass on Cameron Waters through the Turn 10/11 sweeper with little more than two laps remaining.

Van Gisbergen, who celebrated with a trademark burnout, also took the round honours to secure his third Jason Richards Memorial Trophy.

The silverware had seemed destined to go Will Davison’s way, as the #17 Shell V-Power Racing Team driver controlled proceedings in Race 29 – that is, until a bungled pit stop derailed his dream.

Davison was released from pit lane without his left-rear tyre properly attached, forcing him to wobble around for a lap before fixing the matter.

Rubbing salt into the wounds, he received a drive-through penalty for the infringement, leaving him to finish a lap down in 22nd.

But that narrative soon became a distant memory as Waters, van Gisbergen and Andre Heimgartner squabbled for the lead.

Waters had inherited the lead after Davison’s dramas but became vulnerable due to making a mistake at Turn 5, allowing his Kiwi rivals to close up significantly.

Heimgartner had earlier jumped Anton De Pasquale and Broc Feeney courtesy of yet another superb Brad Jones Racing pit stop.

Van Gisbergen soon became Waters’ chief rival, sneaking by his compatriot at Turn 5 on Lap 31 of 41.

Waters had another moment three laps later at Turn 8 and from there it was game on between the lead two, who survived high-speed contact through the sweeper before getting the job done at his second attempt.

Behind, Heimgartner hung on for another podium.

The field had been reduced to 24 cars following Will Brown’s Race 28 crash, and by the opening corner that was 23 as James Courtney was sandwiched by Jake Kostecki and Todd Hazelwood.

Van Gisbergen now is 525 points clear of Waters in the championship with just three rounds remaining.

Race 29 results

1. Shane van Gisbergen
2. Cameron Waters
3. Andre Heimgartner
4. Broc Feeney
5. Anton De Pasquale
6. Chaz Mostert
7. Scott Pye
8. David Reynolds
9. Nick Percat
10. Tim Slade
11. James Golding
12. Mark Winterbottom
13. Bryce Fullwood
14. Lee Holdsworth
15. Jake Kostecki
16. Chris Pither
17. Macauley Jones
18. Thomas Randle
19. Brodie Kostecki
20. Jack Smith
21. Jack Le Brocq
22. Will Davison
23. Todd Hazelwood
NC. James Courtney
DNS. Will Brown

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.