14.6 C
Mount Panorama
Saturday, May 25, 2024


CAMERON Waters has delivered Tickford Racing’s 100th Repco Supercars Championship pole position with a stunning effort at Pukekohe Park Raceway.

Will Davison had looked on for top spot on the Race 27 grid until Waters’ last-ditch effort, which saw him post the first time under the 62-second barrier all weekend.

With his 1:01.998s, Waters becomes the first driver to take Car #50 to a main game pole since Jason Bright at the 2003 season-opener at Adelaide, Tickford making the number switch as part of sponsor Enzed’s anniversary celebrations.

All told, Davison hung on for second ahead of Chaz Mostert and the second Shell V-Power Racing Team Mustang of Anton De Pasquale.

Andre Heimgartner was again the lead Kiwi in fifth, with Scott Pye an impressive sixth.

Red Bull Ampol Racing locked out the fourth row, Shane van Gisbergen just ahead of Broc Feeney.

James Golding starred for PremiAir Racing with ninth, as James Courtney rounded out the 10.

Having enjoyed a spike in pace this weekend, Nick Percat was frustrated to miss the top 10 by a whisker.

From being optimistic of a front-row start, Percat will line up 11th, alongside Tim Slade on the sixth row.

The biggest disappointment of qualifying though was Erebus Motorsport: Brodie Kostecki and Will Brown way down in 20th and 22nd.

It’s been a particularly ragged day for Kostecki, who tore the rear wing off his #99 Holden in Practice 2 and then ran off at Turn 4 during the opening segment of qualifying.

Macauley Jones was a belated addition to Q2 in somewhat bizarre circumstances after a transponder issue was discovered.

Once resolved, he progressed at the expense of Brad Jones Racing teammate Bryce Fullwood.

In the initial 10-minute block where van Gisbergen pipped Mostert and Percat, it was Fullwood, Brown, Lee Holdsworth, Todd Hazelwood and Chris Pither who were buried in the bottom five.

Race 27 will get underway from 2:40pm AEST/4:40pm NZST.

Race 27 grid

1. Cameron Waters
2. Will Davison
3. Chaz Mostert
4. Anton De Pasquale
5. Andre Heimgartner
6. Scott Pye
7. Shane van Gisbergen
8. Broc Feeney
9. James Golding
10. James Courtney
11. Nick Percat
12. Tim Slade
13. Jake Kostecki
14. David Reynolds
15. Macauley Jones
16. Thomas Randle
17. Jack Smith
18. Mark Winterbottom
19. Jack Le Brocq
20. Brodie Kostecki
21. Bryce Fullwood
22. Will Brown
23. Lee Holdsworth
24. Todd Hazelwood
25. Chris Pither

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.