10.2 C
Mount Panorama
Wednesday, June 19, 2024
HomeNewsWaters on pole for Sunday Perth race

Waters on pole for Sunday Perth race

CAM Waters has put Tickford Racing in the box seat to pick up its first win of 2024 after grabbing pole position for Race 2 of the Perth SuperSprint.

MORE: Vaughan hands Tickford Sunday Super2 pole

Chaz Mostert initially kept his #25 Walkinshaw Andretti United Mustang on top in the opening 10-minute segment of knockout qualifying, with Nick Percat second.

The four drivers in the drop zone with 30 seconds on the clock in Q1 were Mark Winterbottom, Macauley Jones, David Reynolds and Andre Heimgartner.

Reynolds and Heimgartner managed to pop up late, bumping out James Courtney and Jack Le Brocq.

Winterbottom (23rd) was frustrated after being baulked by Ryan Wood, who was swiftly handed a three-place grid penalty.

Will Davison was also investigated for impeding Winterbottom but was cleared of any wrongdoing.

Davison then came to the fore in the first half of Q2, laying down such a good time (54.6004s) that he didn’t need to return to the track to progress.

It was a similar story to Q1, with two winners and two losers in the dying stages.

Wood and Thomas Randle put themselves into the 10 after the chequered flag had dropped, which was bad news for Cameron Hill and Broc Feeney.

Feeney was perplexed, in the continuation of a difficult weekend.

Both Matt Stone Racing and Grove Racing entries were eliminated, while joining Davison, Wood and Randle in Q3 were Will Brown, Brodie Kostecki, Anton De Pasquale, Mostert, Reynolds, Waters and Tim Slade.

Davison again was the driver to beat in Q3, hopping out of the car after going fastest on a 54.7512s.

He was not alone in opting against a final flyer, with De Pasquale and Slade also staying in the pits at crunch time.

It would make for a painful few minutes as Davison slipped all the way to seventh.

Brown went to the top, only to be knocked off by Waters’ 54.5545s.

Mostert improved on his second push lap at the end to make it another Ford front-row lockout, falling short of Waters by 0.0312s.

Brown, Wood, Randle and Kostecki wound up third through sixth – although Wood’s penalty means he’ll drop to seventh behind Davison.

The second and final Repco Supercars Championship race of the weekend will start at 3:45pm local time (5:45pm AEST).

RESULTS: Qualifying for Race 2, 2024 Bosch Power Tools Perth SuperSprint

16Cam WatersTickfordFord0m54.5545s
225Chaz MostertWAUFord+0.0312s
387Will BrownTriple EightChevrolet+0.0423s
42Ryan Wood WAUFord+0.0840s
555Thomas Randle TickfordFord+0.1249s
61Brodie KosteckiErebusChevrolet+0.1647s
717Will DavisonDJRFord+0.1967s
811Anton De PasqualeDJRFord+0.3208s
920David ReynoldsTeam 18Chevrolet+0.7257s
10200Tim SladePremiAirChevrolet+1.0580s
114Cameron Hill MSRChevroletQ2
1288Broc Feeney Triple EightChevroletQ2
1314Bryce FullwoodBJRChevroletQ2
143Aaron LoveBRTFordQ2
158Andre HeimgartnerBJRChevroletQ2
1619Matt PayneGroveFordQ2
1726Richie StanawayGroveFordQ2
1810Nick PercatMSRChevroletQ2
1912Jaxon Evans BJRChevroletQ2
2031James Golding PremiAirChevroletQ2
217James CourtneyBRTFordQ1
229Jack Le BrocqErebusChevroletQ1
2318Mark WinterbottomTeam 18ChevroletQ1
2496Macauley JonesBJRChevroletQ1
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.