Peter Brock was the first driver to convert P1 in qualifying into pole position in a Bathurst Shootout in 1979. Photo: Supplied.

QUALIFYING fastest at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 is no guaranteed pathway to taking pole position.

History shows that more often than not the pole position falls to someone other than the fastest qualifier.

Since the Top 10 Shootout was introduced as ‘Hardies Heroes’ back in 1978, just 36% of the fastest qualifiers (16 of 44) have converted being fastest in qualifying into pole position come the end of the Shootout.

The most recent was last year and, no matter whether you view Scott McLaughlin or Chaz Mostert as the pole-sitter, nothing changes. 

McLaughlin was fastest last year in qualifying on the day and in the Shootout and Mostert (the official pole sitter in the record books) was fastest in both once the #17 Mustang was excluded from the timing sheets a month later.

McLaughlin managed to convert his P1 in qualifying in 2017 into pole position while Jamie Whincup has also done it recently – in 2013 and 2016.

Just 12 different drivers in history have converted P1 in qualifying into pole position for ‘The Great Race’ and only four – Whincup, Mark Skaife, Glenn Seton and Peter Brock – have done it twice.

Here’s the list ….

2019 – Chaz Mostert
2017 – Scott McLaughlin
2016 – Jamie Whincup
2013 – Jamie Whincup
2007 – Mark Winterbottom
2006 – Mark Skaife
2005 – Craig Lowndes
2003 – Greg Murphy
1996 – Glenn Seton
1994 – Glenn Seton
1993 – Larry Perkins
1991 – Mark Skaife
1987 – Klaus Ludwig
1983 – Peter Brock
1982 – Allan Grice
1979 – Peter Brock

Glenn Seton took pole for the 1996 AMP Bathurst 1000. His second pole, it came, as in 1994, after qualifying fastest. Photo: an1images.com/Graeme Neander.
With over 20 years in the Australian motorsport industry, Noonan is the head of V8 Sleuth. He’s held a range of roles including working in television with Seven and Ten, print media and public relations. With a specialty in Australian motorsport history, he’s known around racing paddocks as ’the Sleuth’ and started his motorsport media career in 1997.