10.7 C
Mount Panorama
Wednesday, June 19, 2024
HomeNewsGTBathurst 6 Hour winner joins GT4 Australia

Bathurst 6 Hour winner joins GT4 Australia

ONE of Shane van Gisbergen’s Bathurst 6 Hour-winning teammates will join the GT4 Australia series this weekend in a new Ginetta G55.

The car recently arrived in Australia and was tested at Queensland Raceway ahead of being shared by Rob Rubis and Scott Turner in Round 2 at The Bend across May 31 to June 2.

Van Gisbergen and Rubis, along with Shane Smollen, won the 2021 Bathurst 6 Hour.

The Rubis/Turner entry will form part of an 18-car GT4 field in South Australia.

“Rob and I have mainly been in Production Cars where we are current Class B winners from last year,” said Turner.

“We decided to take a step up to race in more purpose-built cars and we think it’s going to be the category to grow the most as it gets more coverage down the track.

Shane Smollen and Rob Rubis with their plaque commemorating their 2021 victory in the Bathurst 6 Hour. Pic: Supplied

“Jordan Cox is in our corner and although his involvement in TCR Australia precludes him from helping us intimately during our weekends, he has helped us to get the set-up right in the Ginetta.

“We’ve also got (Tickford Racing data engineer) Blake Adamson helping us as our technical guy, who works with Cam Waters in Supercars, so we have a great little team behind us.

“We get a bit of help from Mark Griffith as he transports the car and can provide added support if needed.

“The Ginetta has only completed two test days at Queensland Raceway. My driving and business partner Rob Rubis hasn’t even been in it yet, so Thursday practice will be his first drive.

“Testing has gone very well. Jordan Cox complemented the steering and braking of the Ginetta, so we know we’re going in the right direction.

“I think we should have a really good chance in Am Cup.”

That will make for two G55s at The Bend, along with the continuing entry of Mark Cotterell/Jarrod Hughes.

The standout from Round 1 at Phillip Island however was the Ford Mustang GT4 of George Miedecke/Rylan Gray.

ENTRY LIST: GT4 Australia, Round 2 at The Bend

NumberClassDriver 1Driver 2TeamCar
1Pro-AmShane SmollenLachlan MineeffMethod MotorsportPorsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS CS
3Pro-AmSteve JakicRyder QuinnThunder Buddies RacingBMW M4 GT4 G82
12AmVince GucciardoGB Galvanising RacingPorsche 718 Cayman GT4 CS MR
17SilverBailey LoveSam BrabhamLove MotorsportMercedes-AMG GT4
19AmMark GriffithTeam NineteenMercedes-AMG GT4
22SilverTim LeaheyCentral West PrestigeBMW M4 GT4 G82
24SilverNathan MorcomTom McLennanMethod MotorsportMcLaren Artura GT4
25SilverMarcos FlackTom HaymanMethod MotorsportMcLaren Artura GT4
26Pro-AmJason YuJosh BuchanZagame AutosportMcLaren Artura GT4
27Pro-AmRob LoveAntonio AstutiLove MotorsportMercedes-AMG GT4
29AmScott TurnerRob RubisMackay Goodwin Lloyds AuctionsGinetta G55 GT4
32AmJacob LawrenceRandall RacingBMW M4 GT4 G82
33AmPeter LawrenceJamie AugustineRandall RacingBMW M4 GT4 F82
35SilverGeorge MiedeckeRylan GrayMiedecke Motor Group with LubrimaxxFord Mustang GT4
36SilverJake CamilleriGomersall MotorsportMercedes-AMG GT4
101Pro-AmTony QuinnJackson RooneyGame OverMercedes-AMG GT4
210SilverZoe WoodsTekworkX MotorsportPorsche 718 Cayman GT4 CS MR
750Pro-AmMark CotterellJarrod HughesMark Cotterell MotorsportGinetta G55 GT4
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.