8.5 C
Mount Panorama
Friday, June 14, 2024
HomeNewsBathurstBest claims Bathurst Dunlop Series pole despite crash

Best claims Bathurst Dunlop Series pole despite crash

ZAK Best will start the opening Dunlop Series race at the Repco Bathurst 1000 despite a crash right at the end of qualifying.

With the chequered flag already out, the Tickford Racing pilot slid wide at the exit of the Chase on his final qualifying run and slapped the #78 Falcon against the wall on the left hand side.

The incident could prove costly over the course of the remainder of the weekend; while the damage didn’t look significant, Best had one of his race sets of tyres fitted at the time of the crash.

LIVE UPDATES: Follow all the action at the Repco Bathurst 1000

PENALTY: Best, Tickford fined for Bathurst golf buggy breach

WEATHER: The forecast across the 2022 Repco Bathurst 1000 race weekend

It had already been an eventful session for Best, having brushed the wall at Sulman Park on the lap prior to the 2m05.5633s effort that secured pole.

Tyler Everingham qualified second, just 0.2118s shy of Best, despite a severe front bumper vibration during the session.

Cameron Hill and Matt Payne locked out the second row ahead of championship leader Declan Fraser in fifth, with Thursday fast man Matt McLean sixth.

Kai Allen rebounded from his Practice 1 dramas to secure pole position among the Super3 Series runners, his eighth of the season equalling the category record and 3.3 seconds faster than the previous qualifying record.

Unlike Thursday’s practice sessions, Friday morning’s two-part qualifying session unfolded without interruption, with a brief off-track moment for Super3 runner Steven Page at the Chase the only significant incident other than Best’s.

The first of two Dunlop Series races for the weekend gets underway at 3:10pm AEDT.

RESULTS: Qualifying for Race 1, Dunlop Series

178Zak BestFord Falcon FG XDS22m05.5633s
227Tyler EveringhamNissan AltimaDS2+0.2118s
3111Cameron HillHolden Commodore VFDS2+0.7874s
410Matt PayneNissan AltimaDS2+1.0909s
5777Declan FraserHolden Commodore VFDS2+1.1318s
654Matt McLeanHolden Commodore VFDS2+1.2682s
749Jay HansonHolden Commodore VFDS2+1.6570s
86Angelo MouzourisNissan AltimaDS2+1.7357s
930Aaron SetonHolden Commodore VFDS2+1.8106s
1026Kai AllenHolden Commodore VEDS3+1.8901s
1138Cameron CrickHolden Commodore VFDS2+2.0362s
123Thomas MaxwellNissan AltimaDS2+2.0942s
13999Reef McCarthyHolden Commodore VFDS2+2.5161s
1411Zane MorseHolden Commodore VFDS2+2.6200s
1558Ryal HarrisHolden Commodore VFDS2+2.7383s
165Brad VaughanFord Falcon FGDS3+3.4354s
1767Nash MorrisFord Falcon FG XDS2+3.5307s
188Elly MorrowHolden Commodore VFDS2+5.4219s
1935Jason GomersallFord Falcon FGDS3+6.6110s
2046Jarred DanaherFord Falcon FGDS3+7.4594s
2124David MurphyFord Falcon FGDS3+7.5575s
224Tony AuddinoFord Falcon BFDS3+7.9509s
2323Ray HislopFord Falcon FGDS3+8.0857s
247Jim PollicinaHolden Commodore VEDS3+8.5972s
252Steven PageHolden Commodore VE IIDS3+8.6742s
2676Garry HillsHolden Commodore VE IIDS3+10.5249s
27219James MastertonHolden Commodore VEDS3+12.1070s
2896Gary CollinsHolden Commodore VE IIDS3+12.4580s
2925Paul BoschertHolden Commodore VEDS3NTR
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.