8.5 C
Mount Panorama
Friday, June 14, 2024


AN 11-car field has been locked in for the long-awaited return of the VHT S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship at Symmons Plains on January 24-26.

The category will fire back into life alongside the TCR Australia Series the best part of a year after its 2020 season opener was brought to a screaming halt by COVID-19, before a race was run.

A field of 11 will tackle three races in Tasmania, including last-minute addition Joey Mawson who slides in as teammate to Thomas Randle in a second ALABAR Form700 entry.

Mawson is based in Germany, where he has been racing Carrera Cup, and faced a tough logistical challenge to make Symmons Plains.

He underwent a 14-day quarantine in Perth from January 5 before heading to Adelaide for a seat fitting in his S5000 before the team’s truck was dispatched for Tasmania.

Mawson with the car he’ll drive at Symmons Plains. Pic: Supplied

Stablemate Randle has been cleared to race following recent rounds of chemotherapy to treat testicular cancer, which he has been fighting since early in 2020.

He won one of S5000’s only two full events completed to date, at The Bend in late 2019, and is among the favourites for Symmons Plains.

Other likely frontrunners include fellow Supercars co-driver James Golding, who forms part of a two-car Team Valvoline GRM lineup with Nathan Herne.

Along with Randle and Golding, Tim Macrow, Luis Leeds, Antonio Astuti, Ricky Capo and Braydan Willmington continue in the class having been among the Albert Park field last March.

Joining Mawson and Herne as new faces are Tommy Smith, who is aiming to also race in Europe this year, and Hyundai Excel graduate Cooper Webster.

Entry list: 2021 VHT S5000 Australian Drivers’ Championship, Round 1

16Team BRMTommy SmithVICS50005200Black 
23UCS Group TMRTim MacrowVICS50005200Orange/Black
27ALABAR/FORM7000Joey MawsonNSWS50005200Black/gold
29Team Valvoilne GRMNathan HerneNSWS50005200White/Blue/Red
31Team Valvoline GRMJames GoldingVICS50005200Blue
39Astuti MotorsportAntonio AstutiVICS50005200Yellow
49ALABAR/FORM7000Thomas RandleVICS50005200Black/gold
88ACMFinance.comCooper WebsterVICS50005200Blue/Pink
89Braydan Willmington MotorsportsBraydan WillmingtonNSWS50005200Green
92Modena EngineeringRicky CapoVICS50005200White/Red
96Garry Rogers MotorsportLuis LeedsVICS50005200Yellow
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.