13.4 C
Mount Panorama
Thursday, May 30, 2024
HomeNewsMostert heads Ford trifecta in Taupō practice

Mostert heads Ford trifecta in Taupō practice

CHAZ Mostert has drawn first blood at Taupō Motorsport Park, topping the sole practice session at the event.

There was an unfamiliar feel about practice, with a new circuit to learn and only green tyres available per quarantine protocols.

Mostert was quick out of the gates with the best first flying lap of a 1:28.6582s – a mark which he’d improve by more than two seconds by the end of the 90-minute hitout.

Various drivers found their way to the top at different stages, including Will Brown, Jack Le Brocq, Will Davison and Anton De Pasquale, but it was Mostert who ultimately wound up fastest.

The Walkinshaw Andretti United ace got the job done with a 1:26.4937s with little more than two minutes on the clock, putting him just 0.0318s ahead of a late-improving Matt Payne.

Completing a Ford top three was Davison in promising signs for Dick Johnson Racing after its poor start to the season.

James Golding was best of the Chevrolets in fourth ahead of championship leader Brown, Andre Heimgartner, De Pasquale, Jaxon Evans, David Reynolds and Nick Percat.

Cam Waters had a run through the gravel at Turn 11 but managed 11th in the end, one place ahead of Brodie Kostecki.

The session ran green throughout, with the biggest moment belonging to Ryan Wood who went even further off at the Turn 11 hairpin than Waters had earlier.

Broc Feeney was just 21st in the second Triple Eight entry, while Evans, Le Brocq and Cameron Hill clocked the most mileage with 38 laps apiece.

With a heap of debriefing and analysing now on the cards, next up for the Supercars field is Qualifying for Race 1 from 8:20am AEST tomorrow (10:20am local).

Following that will be a Top 10 Shootout and a 60-lap race, before another qualifying/TTSO/race on Sunday.

RESULTS: Practice 1, 2024 ITM Taupō Super400

125Chaz MostertWAUFord1m26.4937s
219Matt PayneGroveFord+0.0318s
317Will DavisonDJRFord+0.0508s
431James Golding PremiAirChevrolet+0.0933s
587Will BrownTriple EightChevrolet+0.1184s
68Andre HeimgartnerBJRChevrolet+0.1621s
711Anton De PasqualeDJRFord+0.2435s
812Jaxon Evans BJRChevrolet+0.2674s
920David ReynoldsTeam 18Chevrolet+0.2808s
1010Nick PercatMSRChevrolet+0.2871s
116Cam WatersTickfordFord+0.2914s
121Brodie KosteckiErebusChevrolet+0.3331s
1355Thomas Randle TickfordFord+0.3722s
1423Tim SladePremiAirChevrolet+0.3937s
159Jack Le BrocqErebusChevrolet+0.4329s
1618Mark WinterbottomTeam 18Chevrolet+0.4876s
172Ryan Wood WAUFord+0.4971s
1896Macauley JonesBJRChevrolet+0.559s
1926Richie StanawayGroveFord+0.6025s
204Cameron Hill MSRChevrolet+0.7355s
2188Broc Feeney Triple EightChevrolet+0.8567s
2214Bryce FullwoodBJRChevrolet+1.0505s
237James CourtneyBRTFord+1.0965s
243Aaron LoveBRTFord+1.4668s
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.