16.8 C
Mount Panorama
Tuesday, May 28, 2024
HomeNewsPit Stop Challenge to kick-off at Taupō

Pit Stop Challenge to kick-off at Taupō

BRAD Jones Racing will have to navigate “an extra level of complexity” in order to take out the Pirtek Pit Stop Challenge for a sixth-straight year.

Supercars has confirmed that teams will again battle out the $20,000 competition in 2024, kicking off with this weekend’s inaugural ITM Taupo Super400.  

This marks the eighth year of the Pirtek-backed Pit Stop Challenge initiative, introduced in 2017 to shine a spotlight on the efforts of the crews.

Teams compete for cash and the Golden Rattle Gun trophy. Pic: Supplied

It will again utilise pitstop times from selected Repco Supercars Championship races, with points awarded to determine a final four that face-off in the knockout semi-finals and final at Bathurst.

This year the competition begins in Taupō and then counts all races during the subsequent rounds at Wanneroo, Hidden Valley, Townsville, Sydney Motorsport Park and Symmons Plains.

Inclusion of the Taupō 400 and Townsville 500 means refuelling is going to play a key role in pitstops that help determine the finalists.

That coincides with the removal of a rule that previously determined how much fuel had to be ‘dropped’ in the longer races.

“Our guys are as ready as ever for the Pirtek Pitstop Challenge,” says Brad Jones.

“This year has an extra level of complexity added to it as its going to include the fuel drop time until we get to the final.

“Being the five-times winners, it goes without saying we have a target on our backs.

“Locking out the final last year was an incredible moment and a testament to the dedication and work our crew puts in throughout the season.

“They’re a supportive group and Sam (Cosgrove, Chief Mechanic) has a great structure in place.

“It always means a lot to us as a team and me personally when we’re able to clinch the title.

“The finals are probably one of my most nervous moments in the year and I’m excited to see what we can do in 2024.”

PIRTEK Pit Stop Challenge Previous Winners

2017: DJR Team Penske Car #12
2018: DJR Team Penske Car #17
2019: Brad Jones Racing Car #8
2020: Brad Jones Racing Car #8
2021: Brad Jones Racing Car #8
2022: Brad Jones Racing (Cars #8 & #14)
2023: Brad Jones Racing (Cars #8 & #14)

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.