25.7 C
Mount Panorama
Saturday, March 2, 2024
HomeNewsReynolds signs with Team 18

Reynolds signs with Team 18

TEAM 18 is set to be the only Supercars team armed with two Bathurst 1000 winners next season, after confirming the signature of David Reynolds.

Replacing Scott Pye, Reynolds will line up alongside his former Tickford Racing teammate Mark Winterbottom in a veteran roster.

It’s further a reunion for Reynolds with Team 18 manager Bruin Beasley and crew chief Dennis Huijser, the trio having won the 2017 Great Race together at Erebus Motorsport.

“This is just a really exciting time for me,” said Reynolds.

“I’ve worked with Bruin and Dennis when we won Bathurst. We get along really well and I respect everything they do.

“On top of that I get to race alongside Frosty and people forget that the last season we raced together, Mark and I finished first and third in the championship back in 2015.

“I can’t thank Charlie (Schwerkolt, team owner) enough. I’ve always admired Charlie and how he conducts himself and his team.

“Funnily enough I’ve always had this feeling that maybe one day I’d race for Charlie, I cannot wait to join him and his team.”

Reynolds has four rounds remaining with Grove Racing, which he joined ahead of the 2021 season.

The only other team which could potentially enter 2024 with multiple Bathurst 1000-winning primary drivers is Dick Johnson Racing, if Anton De Pasquale/Tony D’Alberto win this October.

“We are excited to welcome David Reynolds to Team 18 as we gear up for the 2024 Repco Supercars Championship season,” said Schwerkolt.

“David’s track record, both in terms of his accomplishments and his extensive knowledge of the sport is impressive, and he will be a great fit for the culture we have built at Team 18.

“His addition to the team reflects our pursuit of on-track success and our commitment to secure high-class talent to our organisation.

“We look forward to a strong partnership and a bright future together.”

Notably, Team 18 is yet to indicate whether sponsor Penrite will follow Reynolds across into its fold.

Reynolds’ seat at Grove Racing will be taken by Richie Stanaway next year.

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News