17.9 C
Mount Panorama
Saturday, March 2, 2024
HomeNewsSandown 500 grid, 2023: Where every car will start the race

Sandown 500 grid, 2023: Where every car will start the race

THIS is how the Supercars grid will look when the 2023 Sandown 500 starts on Sunday afternoon.

A single team has locked out the front row of the Sandown enduro grid for the first time since 1998.

Will Brown and Jack Perkins will start from pole position after the Toowoomban’s sterling lap in Saturday afternoon’s Top 10 Shootout, while his Erebus Motorsport teammates Brodie Kostecki and David Russell line up alongside.

REPORT: Brilliant Brown jags Sandown 500 pole

PARITY: Mid-event change to Fords at Sandown

The two Camaros head an all-Ford second row, with Tickford Racing’s Cam Waters/James Moffat qualifying third-fastest ahead of Dick Johnson Racing’s Will Davison/Alex Davison entry, while Broc Feeney and reigning Sandown 500 co-winner Jamie Whincup will start from fifth.

Several big names will pursue the race victory from outside the first five rows of the grid.

Mark Winterbottom and James Courtney – who locked out the front row the last time a Top 10 Shootout determined the Sandown 500 grid in 2007 – will start alongside each other on the seventh row of the grid, while 2021 Bathurst 1000-winning combination Chaz Mostert and Lee Holdsworth will start from 16th place.

Shane van Gisbergen and Richie Stanaway will start from 19th on the grid, alongside the second DJR Mustang of Anton De Pasquale and Tony D’Alberto, while the Triple Eight-run wildcard entry of 2019 co-winner Craig Lowndes and Zane Goddard line up from 23rd.

The Supercars next hit the track at 10:10am AEST for a 20-minute warm-up session, before the 161-lap race gets underway at 2:15pm.

THE GRID: 2023 Sandown 500

19Will Brown / Jack PerkinsErebusChevrolet1m08.6693s
299Brodie Kostecki / David RussellErebusChevrolet1m08.8555s
36Cam Waters / James MoffatTickfordFord1m08.9781s
417Will Davison / Alex DavisonDJRFord1m09.0011s
588Broc Feeney / Jamie WhincupTriple EightChevrolet1m09.0325s
63Todd Hazelwood / Tim BlanchardBRTFord1m09.0636s
719Matthew Payne / Kevin EstreGroveFord1m09.1005s
826David Reynolds / Garth TanderGroveFord1m09.1298s
955Thomas Randle / Garry JacobsonTickfordFord1m09.2708s
1034Jack Le Brocq / Jayden OjedaMSRChevrolet1m09.4426s
1123Tim Slade / Jonathon WebbPremiAirChevrolet1m08.8597s
1235Cameron Hill / Jaylyn RobothamMSRChevrolet1m08.8623s
1318Mark Winterbottom / Michael CarusoTeam 18Chevrolet1m08.9114s
145James Courtney / Zak BestTickfordFord1m08.9288s
158Andre Heimgartner / Dale WoodBJRChevrolet1m08.9324s
1625Chaz Mostert / Lee HoldsworthWAUFord1m08.9387s
1756Declan Fraser / Tyler EveringhamTickfordFord1m08.9729s
1831James Golding / Dylan O’KeeffePremiAirChevrolet1m08.9806s
1997Shane van Gisbergen / Richie StanawayTriple EightChevrolet1m08.9848s
2011Anton De Pasquale / Tony D’AlbertoDJRFord1m09.0068s
2120Scott Pye / Warren LuffTeam 18Chevrolet1m09.0303s
224Jack Smith / Jaxon EvansBJRChevrolet1m09.0308s
23888Craig Lowndes / Zane GoddardTriple EightChevrolet1m09.0731s
2496Macauley Jones / Jordan BoysBJRChevrolet1m09.0821s
2514Bryce Fullwood / Dean FioreBJRChevrolet1m09.1015s
262Nick Percat / Fabian CoulthardWAUFord1m09.1691s
277Aaron Love / Jake KosteckiBRTFord1m09.4351s

V8 Sleuth’s coverage of the 2023 Penrite Oil Sandown 500 is proudly presented by Biante – Fuel your passion with winning model cars. Visit Biante here to check out their range of model cars in a range of scales from 1:64 to 1:10.

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News