11.3 C
Mount Panorama
Monday, April 22, 2024
HomeNewsSupercarsSpongeBob SquarePants tops Supercars Practice 1

SpongeBob SquarePants tops Supercars Practice 1

SPONGEBOB SquarePants has made quite the first impression on the Repco Supercars Championship, with Macauley Jones topping opening practice at Albert Park.

Donning the yellow of the popular Nickelodeon character, Jones has set himself up for a big MSS Security Melbourne SuperSprint by rolling out of the truck strongly, his 1:47.6167s unrivalled in Practice 1.

NEWS: BJR reveals SpongeBob livery for AGP

While the once-hyped battle between Chaz Mostert and Nick Percat as Walkinshaw Andretti United teammates never panned out, it was those two who duked it out in the initial stages.

Mostert was fastest from Percat from the initial flying laps in the 30-minute session, with the former leading the way on a 1:48.1447s before Cam Waters popped into second.

With 13 minutes remaining on the clock, Percat put Matt Stone Racing on top, only to be immediately eclipsed by Mostert to the tune of a mere 0.0435s as the latter became the first into the ‘47s’.

Percat responded in the closing stages, lowering the marker to 1:47.7370s.

But there was still more to come: Cam Waters and Matt Payne made it a Ford one-two, only for Jones to steal the limelight in his specially liveried #96 Camaro.

That left the pointy end of the order to read: Jones, Waters, Payne, Percat, Jaxon Evans, Todd Hazelwood, Mostert, Anton De Pasquale, Jack Le Brocq and Andre Heimgartner.

Championship leader Will Brown was just 15th and was among those to skate off at the first chicane, along with Percat and Ryan Wood.

The biggest moment of the session though belonged to Mark Winterbottom, who scraped the fence at the fast Turn 8 sweeper in the closing stages.

Supercars return to the track for second and final practice from 1:25pm AEDT.

RESULTS: Practice 1, 2024 MSS Security Melbourne SuperSprint

196Macauley JonesBJRChevrolet1m47.6167s
219Matt PayneGroveFord+0.0554s
36Cam WatersTickfordFord+0.0602s
410Nick PercatMSRChevrolet+0.1203s
512Jaxon Evans BJRChevrolet+0.2276s
699Todd HazelwoodErebusChevrolet+0.3503s
725Chaz MostertWAUFord+0.3661s
811Anton De PasqualeDJRFord+0.3810s
99Jack Le BrocqErebusChevrolet+0.4263s
108Andre HeimgartnerBJRChevrolet+0.4573s
1117Will DavisonDJRFord+0.4843s
1226Richie StanawayGroveFord+0.5025s
1355Thomas Randle TickfordFord+0.5877s
1418Mark WinterbottomTeam 18Chevrolet+0.7408s
1587Will BrownTriple EightChevrolet+0.8416s
1623Tim SladePremiAirChevrolet+0.855s
177James CourtneyBRTFord+0.8585s
1814Bryce FullwoodBJRChevrolet+0.8606s
1920David ReynoldsTeam 18Chevrolet+1.1104s
2088Broc Feeney Triple EightChevrolet+1.1147s
214Cameron Hill MSRChevrolet+1.7033s
222Ryan Wood WAUFord+1.7303s
2331James Golding PremiAirChevrolet+2.0979s
243Aaron LoveBRTFord+2.6974s
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.