17.9 C
Mount Panorama
Saturday, March 2, 2024
HomeNewsThe forever Newcastle 500 champion?

The forever Newcastle 500 champion?

A COUNCIL vote has put the Newcastle 500’s future in grave doubt, after just four Supercars rounds on the city’s streets.

Even in that short history, Newcastle has played host to some major Supercars moments, starting with the thrilling 2017 title decider that played out between Jamie Whincup and Scott McLaughlin.

Twelve months later, McLaughlin avenged that defeat to beat Shane van Gisbergen to the 2018 championship – that event also marking the last start of Craig Lowndes’ illustrious full-time career.

After one more season finale in 2019, there was a few years off due to COVID-19, before Newcastle’s next milestone: holding the maiden race weekend for Supercars’ new Gen3 machines.

It’s increasingly looking like that will be the end of the road for Newcastle/Supercars, so we’ve decided to commemorate the prospect in classic V8 Sleuth fashion.

That is, we’ve had V8 Sleuth stats guru Shane Rogers crunch the numbers to determine the all-time Newcastle 500 champion, determined by overall points accrued.

The winner might surprise you: David Reynolds.

Reynolds is one of 11 drivers to have contested every Newcastle round, and he’s tasted plenty of success along the way.

In eight races there, Reynolds has four podiums including one win – not to mention two pole positions.

See the full table below…

Total Supercars Championship points accrued in Newcastle:

1David Reynolds9124
2Shane van Gisbergen8224
3Chaz Mostert7504
4Scott McLaughlin7473
5Scott Pye7204
6Jamie Whincup6903
7Cam Waters6484
8Tim Slade6484
9Mark Winterbottom6394
10James Courtney5464
11Will Davison5164
12Andre Heimgartner5104
13Lee Holdsworth4683
14Rick Kelly4503
15Nick Percat4444
16Fabian Coulthard4323
17Todd Hazelwood3603
18James Golding3303
19Jack Le Brocq3273
20Simona De Silvestro3093
21Michael Caruso2822
22Anton De Pasquale2793
23Garth Tander2702
24Brodie Kostecki2311
25Richie Stanaway2072
26Will Brown1861
27Macauley Jones1832
28Tim Blanchard1652
29Todd Kelly1381
30Matt Payne1321
31Bryce Fullwood1321
32Broc Feeney1111
33Craig Lowndes1082
34Thomas Randle1051
35Dale Wood961
36Cameron Hill871
37Jack Smith871
38Garry Jacobson841
39Declan Fraser661
40James Moffat661
41Aaren Russell481
42Taz Douglas421
43Jason Bright391
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News