11.3 C
Mount Panorama
Monday, April 22, 2024
HomeNewsThe Supercars driver milestones on the cards for 2024

The Supercars driver milestones on the cards for 2024

THERE’S set to be plenty of major driver milestones celebrated during the course of the 2024 Repco Supercars Championship, as V8 Sleuth explores here.

Even with not counting 50 rounds as a ‘major milestone’, there are 15 drivers in line to chalk up some sort of landmark feat before the year is out (keeping in mind there are 12 rounds and 24 races on the calendar).

Check out the below list, ordered alphabetically, to see if your favourite driver is among them.

James Courtney and Will Davison

Ford’s most experienced active campaigners will simultaneously celebrate their 250th round, at the Darwin Triple Crown in June.

Only eight drivers have reached that figure before them: Craig Lowndes, Garth Tander, Mark Winterbottom, Rick Kelly, Jason Bright, Russell Ingall, Jamie Whincup and Todd Kelly.

Davison will also notch up his 550th race start at Albert Park as he approaches 20 years on from his main game debut (July 25, 2004).

MORE: What to watch for in Supercars 2024

Anton De Pasquale

Davison’s Dick Johnson Racing teammate Anton De Pasquale is due to make race start #200 in the Sunday leg of the Tasmania SuperSprint in August.

Anton De Pasquale. Pic: Supplied/Mark Horsburgh

Andre Heimgartner

The Brad Jones Racing ace currently has 244 races to his name, meaning his 250th is set to come in the fourth and final sprint at Albert Park.

The exact 10-year anniversary of his Supercars Championship debut will also fall on the Saturday of this year’s Repco Bathurst 1000.

Brodie Kostecki

The season-opener will be a double celebration for Brodie Kostecki, his first race donning the #1 coinciding with his 100th career race.

Jack Le Brocq

Kostecki’s new teammate Jack Le Brocq will then tick off race #200 on the Sunday of the Bathurst 500.

The Bathurst 1000 later in the year will also mark his 100th round.

Craig Lowndes

It’s merely months until the legend turns 50; his milestone birthday falling on June 21 this year.

Chaz Mostert, Nick Percat and Scott Pye

The three members of the memorable Super2 class of 2012 not named Scott McLaughlin will each celebrate their 150th championship round start this year.

Mostert and Percat are at 142 and 143 rounds respectively, while Pye – now a co-driver at Triple Eight – is up to 149.

Chaz Mostert, Scott McLaughlin and Nick Percat on the 2012 Townsville Super2 podium. Pic: an1images.com

Thomas Randle

Now one half of Tickford’s main game roster, Randle is due to chalk up his 100th championship race start in October on the Gold Coast.

David Reynolds and Tim Slade

Reynolds (currently 197 rounds/432 races) and Slade (196/427) are on course for a double milestone year, ticking over 200 rounds and 450 races.

Fifteen years on from his debut, Slade is set to celebrate the latter on home soil in Adelaide.

Cam Waters

A different sort of half-century is within reach for Waters, whose career podium tally sits at 47…

Ryan Wood

While others are counting down towards longevity-inspired feats, the Bathurst 500 will be the debut hitout for Walkinshaw Andretti United’s newest wunderkind.

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.