7.4 C
Mount Panorama
Thursday, May 23, 2024


Which Fords have roared the most over the last 25 years?

V8 SLEUTH is all about history and when it comes to modern Supercars history, Ford fans have had plenty to cheer for.

We always love to focus on the actual cars and have compiled the list of the top five winning Falcon Supercar chassis of the modern era.

There are a few surprises in this list too, but it’s no surprise that Stone Brothers Racing, Prodrive Racing Australia (formerly FPR), Triple Eight and Dick Johnson Racing are all featured in this list.

So, here’s the top 5 …

1. SBR BA02 – 25 Champ Race Wins

Marcos Ambrose’s 2003/2004 Championship Winner was indeed a gem, taking the Tasmanian ace to not only those titles but wins at the Clipsal 500 as well as the Sandown 500 in 2004 alongside Greg Ritter.

This car was Ambrose’s car of choice for three seasons in a row, 2003 to 2005, and he signed off in style with a dominant weekend at Phillip Island to round out the ’05 season before he departed for NASCAR.

2. FPR1217 – 14 Champ Race Wins

This was the car that took Mark Winterbottom to the 2015 Championship in Pepsi Max Crew colours. A Car of the Future chassis actually produced in 2013 that didn’t race until 2014 it was Frosty’s car for that entire season and then did plenty of winning in 2015 before it spent time in Cam Waters hands and now is Jason Bright’s MEGA Bulk Fuels Ford.

3. 888A-010 – 13 Champ Race Wins

This Triple Eight-built Falcon was the car that scored the team’s first major endurance wins – the 2005 Sandown 500 with Craig Lowndes and Yvan Muller as well as the emotional 2006 Bathurst 1000 with Lowndes and Jamie Whincup. The actual car is now back in its 2006 Betta Electrical livery and spec and is a very special car in the team’s history.

4. 888A-014 – 13 Champ Race Wins

The last BF Falcon built by Triple Eight, this car was constructed to replace the car crashed by Jamie Whincup in qualifying in Hamilton in 2008. Later in the year it took he and Lowndes to their third consecutive Bathurst victory, writing both team and drivers into the record books.

5. DJR EB5 – 12 Champ Race Wins

The ironic part of this car’s history is that its most famous win – the 1994 Tooheys 1000 at Bathurst – was not part of the championship and doesn’t actually count that win among the 12 race wins that get it onto this list.

Of course it did plenty of winning in John Bowe’s hands in EF spec in 1995 and 1996 before it was written off at Phillip Island in ’96.

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.