15.2 C
Mount Panorama
Saturday, May 25, 2024
HomeNewsNationalMcCorkindale headlines Aussie Racing Cars entry list

McCorkindale headlines Aussie Racing Cars entry list

FORMER Super2 and Trans Am racer Jon McCorkindale will switch to the Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series after nearly having to give up motorsport altogether.

A budget shortfall prevented McCorkindale from returning for a second Trans Am season.

Instead, he’ll be part of a 40-strong Aussie Racing Cars field this weekend at Newcastle, the category having been granted an exemption to break the street circuit’s track density limit of 36 cars.

“It’s a tight category in regards to the rules and regulations, so for me it will be fun as I aim to bring in more sponsorship to complete the year,” said McCorkindale.

“I think they’re built for it! These little cars, if you block up the inside of the corner even though it might be a narrow track, they are short enough to go around the outside, so I think the racing is going to be really good.

TICKETS: Buy your tickets to the Thrifty Newcastle 500

“The new higher aero package for the Aussie Racing Cars this season is going to make the racing even tighter and there are good drivers as one of 15 can win up in Newcastle.

“It’s good to have the first round at Newcastle, especially for my sponsors to be in front of so many people and to be part of it as not long ago I was considering hanging up the helmet.”

TCR Australia podium finisher Kody Garland will also be on the grid.

ENTRY LIST: Battery World Aussie Racing Cars Super Series, Thrifty Newcastle 500

1CoolDrive / Perenso RacingJoshua AndersonMustang
3Black Diamond Building and ConstructionSteve JakicEuro GT
5Lichtenberger MotorsportNicklaus LichtenbergerCamaro
6Chivas MotorsportIan ChivasNissan Altima
7Muscle Motor TrimmersAndrew LorgellyEuro GT
11Toolforce / Ace Construction GroupAdam CasuccioToyota Aurion
13Asap Marketing Pty LtdScott GoreMustang
14PCA / MGR RacingMatt GoodingCamaro
16Osborn’s TransportJoel HeinrichMustang
17Butler Fabrication / Team Grand RacingDenis ButlerCamaro
18Shell Rimula Topgun Race TeamCody BrewczynskiMustang
19Phillips & Co AutomotiveSheridan PhillipsCamaro
21Rylan Gray MotorsportRylan GrayCamaro
22MSS Group / O’Keefe MotorsportsScott O’KeefeMustang
23Action Line MarkingScott DornanCamaro
25CoolDrive Racing / Motorsport 25Reece ChapmanMustang
27Locke Racing TeamNathan LockEuro GT
28Norganic Proteins Pty LtdKent QuinnMustang
33Elev8 MotorsportsAntonio BasileEuro GT
34Elev8 Loans / Engedi CapitalTodd O’BrienMustang
41MTA NSW / ValvolineKody GarlandMustang
47Motorsport 25 / Pro Cool RacingTroy JonesCamaro
48Asap Marketing Pty LtdKeith BensleyToyota Aurion
52Charlotte Poynting RacingCharlotte PoyntingMustang
55Nova Air and Electrical / EVCMichael SherwellNissan Altima
64Western Sydney MotorsportCraig WoodsMustang
69Before You Dig / Aus KartsJon McCorkindaleCamaro
72Western Sydney MotorsportCraig ThompsonMustang
78Western Sydney MotorsportGrant ThompsonMustang
82Cody Mckay MotorsportsCody MckayCamaro
83Shaun Martin Motorsport / AVE TechnologiesShaun MartinCommodore
86Osborn’s TransportBrett OsbornCamaro
87Corish MotorsportsLeslie CorishCamaro
88Bartsch EarthmovingMichael BartschCamaro
91Koan Solutions – Crete & Works CoAnthony DiMauroCamaro
95Nathan Williams RacingNathan WilliamsMustang
96Fight MNDJeff WattersMustang
111Layton Mckechnie RacingLayton MckechnieNissan Altima
117Lachlan Ward RacingLachlan WardCamaro
187Corish MotorsportsAndrew CorishCamaro
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.