11.3 C
Mount Panorama
Monday, April 22, 2024
HomeNewsAllen denies Stewart special Super2 pole

Allen denies Stewart special Super2 pole

KAI Allen has ticked another box in his Super2 title defence, chalking up pole position for Race 2 of the Bathurst season-opener.

Allen had to dig deep to pull out a 2:05.4110s to deny rookie Jobe Stewart a sensational pole, on a weekend where his Erebus/Image team is racing in honour of the late Dana Wyhoon.

Contrary to the standard Dunlop Series protocol of splitting the qualifying field in two, a late decision was made to run all 25 cars together across a half-hour hitout.

That caught out AIM Motorsport’s Zane Morse, who only had 15 minutes’ worth of fuel onboard, forcing him to wait in the lane while others headed out.

It was quickly clear that conditions were fast.

Tickford Racing protégé Rylan Gray shot to the top on the first flying laps with a 2:07.3394s, but that effort was blown out of the water by Kai Allen the next time around.

Allen registered the quickest lap of the weekend to date, a 2:05.6904s, before another Coca-Cola Commodore found trouble as Cameron McLeod got stuck in the Hell Corner gravel trap.

When the session resumed from that red flag stoppage, it was Allen’s Eggleston Motorsport teammates lighting up the leaderboard: Cooper Murray going purple by 0.0387s and Cameron Crick making it a top three lockout.

There was plenty more still to come, with Erebus Academy youngster Stewart lowering the marker to 2:05.4932s.

But Allen wasn’t done yet, and his answer was enough to wrestle back pole by the tune of 0.0822s.

Stewart’s time stood for second, with Zach Bates, Murray and Brad Vaughan rounding out the five.

The latter did blot his copybook late though, impeding Tickford Racing teammate Rylan Gray who was the only driver shaping to improve after the chequered flag flew.

That left Gray to settle for eighth, just ahead of Lochie Dalton in the third Tickford Mustang. Dalton was the last of the nine drivers to record a 2:05s.

This afternoon’s 40-minute race will start at 1:40pm AEDT.

RESULTS: 2024 Super2 Qualifying for Race 2, Bathurst Round 1

11Kai AllenHolden Commodore ZBDS22m05.4110s
299Jobe StewartHolden Commodore ZBDS2+0.0822s
325Zach BatesHolden Commodore ZBDS2+0.2135s
488Cooper MurrayHolden Commodore ZBDS2+0.2407s
55Bradley VaughanFord Mustang GTDS2+0.4815s
611Zane Morse Ford Mustang GTDS2+0.4968s
727Aaron CameronFord Mustang GTDS2+0.5041s
855Rylan GrayFord Mustang GTDS2+0.5127s
96Lochie DaltonFord Mustang GTDS2+0.566s
1038Cameron CrickHolden Commodore ZBDS2+0.7073s
11118Jarrod HughesHolden Commodore ZBDS2+0.8167s
1217Max VidauFord Mustang GTDS2+0.8576s
1315Cody BurcherNissan Altima L33DS3+1.0203s
1454Jordyn SinniHolden Commodore ZBDS2+1.0906s
1592Cameron McLeodHolden Commodore ZBDS2+1.2372s
1618Matt ChahdaHolden Commodore ZBDS2+1.4221s
1720Reuben GoodallHolden Commodore ZBDS2+1.5249s
183Thomas MaxwellNissan Altima L33DS3+1.5837s
192Campbell LoganHolden Commodore ZBDS2+1.6246s
209Cody GillisHolden Commodore ZBDS2+2.2515s
2122Mason KellyFord Mustang GTDS2+2.2584s
22117Jett JohnsonFord Mustang GTDS2+2.4159s
2333Callum WalkerHolden Commodore ZBDS2+2.561s
2419Elliott ClearyHolden Commodore ZBDS2+3.2668s
25219James MastertonFord Mustang GTDS2+6.0822s
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.