6.8 C
Mount Panorama
Thursday, May 30, 2024
HomeNewsBathurstStars come unstuck in rapid Bathurst opener

Stars come unstuck in rapid Bathurst opener

WILL Davison has drawn first blood at the 2022 Repco Bathurst 1000 but the major talking point was a series of scares for front-running entries.

The most notable of all was championship leader Shane van Gisbergen’s wild slide through Reid Park, glancing the wall on driver’s left entering the final quarter of the 60-minute session.

“It’s tough. I just wanted to have a clean session one, so I’m pretty pissed at myself for doing that but the car felt good,” van Gisbergen said.

ENTRY LIST: Every car and driver in the 2022 Repco Bathurst 1000

SCHEDULE: Bathurst 1000 track schedule for every category

TV GUIDE: How and where to watch the Bathurst 1000

WEATHER: The forecast across the 2022 Repco Bathurst 1000 race weekend

It didn’t make a lasting dent on preparations for the #97 Red Bull Ampol Racing ZB Commodore, with co-driver Garth Tander venturing back out a matter of minutes later.

Also coming unstuck in the slippery conditions was Anton De Pasquale, who spun at Forrest’s Elbow but escaped with relatively minor rear contact with the fence.

The first of two red flags was brought out when Cameron Waters beached his Mustang at Murray’s Corner.

Completing an eventful session for Tickford Racing, Waters’ teammate Jake Kostecki triggered an early end to proceedings when he became buried in the Hell Corner gravel trap.

Andre Heimgartner came close to repeating Waters’ mistake, while Craig Lowndes had multiple excursions into the run-off areas at both Murray’s and Hell.

Davison’s session-topping time came with eight minutes remaining, lobbing in a 2:04.3691s – some seven tenths quicker than the fastest Practice 1 time last year.

James Golding came close to topping the opening Supercars session. Pic: Nathan Wong

James Golding starred to almost knock Davison off top spot, falling just 0.0160s short.

Heimgartner, David Reynolds and Nick Percat rounded out the top five.

Main drivers did the bulk of the running, although Erebus Motorsport was among the teams to give all of its co-drivers seat time.

The Erebus/Boost Mobile wildcard of Richie Stanaway and Greg Murphy had their session cut short by a starter motor issue, leaving them 28th.

Practice 2 starts at 3:55pm AEDT and will be dedicated to co-drivers.

RESULTS: Practice 1, Repco Bathurst 1000 (60min)

117Will DavisonDJRFord2m04.3691s
231James GoldingPremiAirHolden+0.0160s
38Andre HeimgartnerBJRHolden+0.2813s
426David ReynoldsGroveFord+0.8719s
52Nick PercatWAUHolden+0.8782s
697Shane van Gisbergen / Garth TanderTriple EightHolden+0.9554s
788Broc FeeneyTriple EightHolden+0.9793s
8100Anton De PasqualeDJRFord+1.1074s
925Chaz Mostert / Fabian CoulthardWAUHolden+1.1115s
1010Lee HoldsworthGroveFord+1.1194s
1199Brodie Kostecki / David RussellErebusHolden+1.1465s
1220Scott Pye / Tyler EveringhamTeam 18Holden+1.1927s
136Cameron WatersTickfordFord+1.2347s
143Tim SladeBRTFord+1.5036s
1514Bryce FullwoodBJRHolden+1.5266s
1696Macauley JonesBJRHolden+1.6088s
1718Mark WinterbottomTeam 18Holden+1.7679s
185James Courtney / Zane GoddardTickfordFord+1.8340s
19888Craig LowndesTriple EightHolden+1.8821s
2035Todd Hazelwood / Jayden OjedaMSRHolden+2.0410s
219Will Brown / Jack PerkinsErebusHolden+2.5202s
2234Jack Le BrocqMSRHolden+2.5407s
2322Chris PitherPremiAirHolden+2.6567s
2456Jake KosteckiTickfordFord+2.7556s
254Jack SmithBJRHolden+2.9056s
26118Matt ChahdaTriple EightHolden+3.3911s
2755Thomas RandleTickfordFord+3.6389s
2851Richie Stanaway / Greg MurphyErebusHolden+3.9049s
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.