Brock Bathurst anniversary marked with stamp release

AUSTRALIA Post and the Brock family have celebrated 50 years since Peter Brock’s first Bathurst victory with a limited-edition stamp release.

The ‘Peter Brock – King of the Mountain’ collection consists of five stamps each featuring Brock and one of his Bathurst-winning cars.

MORE: Where Brock’s Bathurst winning cars are today

TOP 5: Wettest races in Great Race history

Brock’s LJ Torana (1972), LX Torana (1979), VC Commodore (1980), VK Commodore (1984) and VL Commodore (1987) have all been immortalised.

The stamps can be purchased directly through Australia Post.

Supercars has also created a Peter Brock tribute display in the Mount Panorama Circuit’s Harris Park precinct to mark the anniversary.

Peter Brock raced through wet weather to take victory in the 1972 Bathurst 500. Pic: Supplied

The 50-year milestone coincides with the final Bathurst 1000 that will feature Holdens, before the Chevrolet Camaro takes to the track in 2023.

General Manager Chevrolet Racing, Chris Payne, declared it an emotional weekend.

“Bathurst is one of the most iconic races in the world and we want to appropriately recognise this historic end of an era for Holden in racing,” said Payne.

“Sunday will be emotional for a lot of Holden fans, including ex-Holden and race team employees and ex-Dealer staff, the final time a Holden races in a Supercars event at Bathurst.

“It would be an outstanding way to farewell Holden from the Mountain if one of the Commodore drivers can add to the brand’s 35 race wins at the circuit.”

Holden’s victory tally has it well clear of arch rival Ford (20), while Nissan (2), Jaguar, Morris, BMW and Volvo (1) have also won Australia’s Great Race.

Stefan joined V8 Sleuth in 2020 as Head of Content – Publications. A multi-award-winning journalist, he’s worked in the sport for more than a decade, including stints as editor of and