1.8 C
Mount Panorama
Wednesday, May 22, 2024
HomeNewsDJR 1-2 in controversial Adelaide Shootout

DJR 1-2 in controversial Adelaide Shootout

DICK Johnson Racing drivers Anton De Pasquale and Will Davison will share the front row of the grid for the Sunday leg of the VALO Adelaide 500.

Davison was the sixth driver on track in the session and recorded a 1:19.5683s to knock previous fast-man Broc Feeney from the top by just 0.0464s.

The #17 Shell Ford’s time withstood subsequent efforts from Shane van Gisbergen and Chaz Mostert, before De Pasquale went 0.1860s faster.

Cam Waters was last on track and could manage no better than sixth, leaving the DJR duo on the front row and Triple Eight teammates Feeney and van Gisbergen on row two.

Mostert will share row three with Waters, who was awarded $10,000 for the most poles during the season; his tally of 10 one ahead of Davison’s efforts.

Starting seventh through 10th today will be Will Brown, Andre Heimgartner, Todd Hazelwood and David Reynolds.

Cam Waters. Pic: Supplied

The start of the Shootout had been delayed as officials worked out whether or not van Gisbergen should be allowed to participate.

The Kiwi had been caught speeding in pitlane during qualifying; an infringement that ultimately did not impact his Shootout status.

“We needed to make sure we had the right person in the Top 10,” said Supercars Head of Motorsport Adrian Burgess.

“Shane coming on his last stop went to hit the pitlane speed button, missed it and it didn’t activate correctly.

“He was under 40 km/h as he entered the lane and then he gently accelerated down the lane and it crept up to 45, 46. He realised, hit the brake, put the limiter on.

“Obviously that triggers a report. The stewards are comfortable that Shane did everything he could to catch it and act correctly.

“We don’t feel it’s correct to disqualify him from the Top 10 on that basis. But we needed to do it correctly and we needed to get the 11th person ready in case they were in the Top 10.”

Speaking to the television broadcast immediately after his lap, said: “I got too much shit running through my head from all the dramas before quali. I’ll sort it out for the race.”

De Pasquale meanwhile celebrated his fourth pole of a mixed 2022 campaign, that on Saturday included a costly radio malfunction that hampered his pit strategy.

“The guys have done an amazing job so to get the last pole of the year is awesome,” he said. “Obviously we want to convert that into a trophy but a good way to end the year so far.

“We’ve been struggling the last few rounds for a bit of speed, so we changed a few things up and have a bit of car speed back.”

It’s the first time that Waters has ended the year with the most pole positions; an accolade he plans to enjoy with his Tickford Racing crew.

“It’s awesome. I can’t thank my team enough, we’ve kept stepping it up over the years and awesome to have the quali speed this year,” said Waters.

“The 10 g’s is pretty cool; I’ll shout the boys a few beers – a lot of beers.

“I just didn’t get the lap together then, locked up that last corner which cost me a front-row start but that’s okay, it has been a pretty good year.”

RESULTS: Top 10 Shootout for Race 34, 2022 VALO Adelaide 500

111Anton De PasqualeDJRFord1m19.3823s
217Will DavisonDJRFord+0.186s
388Broc FeeneyTriple EightHolden+0.2324s
41Shane van GisbergenTriple EightHolden+0.2847s
525Chaz MostertWAUHolden+0.2948s
66Cam WatersTickfordFord+0.3911s
79Will BrownErebusHolden+0.4467s
88Andre HeimgartnerBJRHolden+0.5399s
935Todd HazelwoodMSRHolden+0.9517s
1026David ReynoldsGroveFord+0.962s
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.