6.8 C
Mount Panorama
Thursday, May 30, 2024


DICK Johnson Racing will celebrate becoming the first team to chalk up 1000 Repco Supercars Championship races with a rare livery change for next month’s Bathurst 1000.

The new look for the team’s Shell V-Power Mustangs will be revealed on Monday, less than two weeks out from race day at Mount Panorama.

DJR was founded in 1980 after Johnson famously hit a rock at Bathurst and has gone on to claim 147 wins, 308 podiums and 143 pole positions from its 999 races to date.

Its tally of 10 ATCC/Supercars drivers’ championship is currently unparalleled, and it also has three teams’ titles to its name.

“What a ride the last 999 races have been, and I could have never imagined the extent of what DJR has become today,” said founder Dick Johnson.

“To reach 1000 races at the Repco Bathurst 1000 is a pretty cool milestone.

“I am incredibly proud to be the first Supercars team to reach this milestone.

“There’s been a lot of ups and downs during those 999 races, some good some bad and some absolutely fantastic.

Jett, Steven, Dick and Jill Johnson. Pic: Supplied

“You are only as good as the people you have around you and we have always had really good people around who have been very loyal.

“When you get people who like to come to work every day and want to be here that’s when you find success comes. 

“Here’s to 1000 more races.”

DJR executive chairman Ryan Story spoke with pride of the team’s upcoming 1000th.

“It’s no secret that I was a Dick Johnson Racing fan as a kid growing up and to have joined the race team in an official capacity is something I am very proud of,” he said.

“Dick Johnson is the most synonymous name with motorsport here in Australia and across the world.

“Everything that the team has achieved is because of the man himself Dick Johnson.

“I am proud to be part of the most iconic race team and I can’t wait to see what the next 1000 races look like.”

DJR is taking an unchanged line-up into the 2022 Great Race: Will Davison/Alex Davison and Anton De Pasquale/Tony D’Alberto.

The Stapylton squad scored the last of its four Bathurst 1000 victories in 2019 courtesy of Scott McLaughlin and Alex Premat.

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.