16.3 C
Mount Panorama
Saturday, April 20, 2024
HomeNewsFeeney, Waters split Albert Park Supercars poles

Feeney, Waters split Albert Park Supercars poles

BROC Feeney and Cam Waters scored a pole position apiece in Thursday’s back-to-back Supercars qualifying sessions at Albert Park.

A pair of 15-minute sessions set the respective grids for the opening race to be held later this evening, and Friday’s Race 2.

Feeney continued Triple Eight’s early-season dominance in the first session before Waters, debuting a new Monster Mustang this weekend, fought back in the second.

Race 1 qualifying

Feeney pulled one out of the fire in the first session, leaping from last to first with a pole-winning lap that was set with the chequered flag flying.

Ford drivers Chaz Mostert and Matt Payne sat first and second when the 15 minutes elapsed, both parked up having done their run – the former on top with 1:47.9782s.

Will Brown then turned 23rd into second, falling a scant 0.0058s shy of Mostert, before Feeney put a relatively large 0.2634s on the Ford star.

That appeared to leave order as Feeney, Mostert, Brown and Payne, only for De Pasquale to shoot to second even later, 0.1532s adrift of pole.

Nick Percat, Waters, Richie Stanaway, Bryce Fullwood and Todd Hazelwood rounded out the top 10, but the session was all about Feeney’s late heroics.

Feeney explained that he’d aborted his earlier run due to traffic.

“I was pretty nervous,” said Feeney of how it played out.

“Our timing wasn’t great on the first run, it was super-messy on the outlap and I got stuck behind another car. We were talking through the hotlap, ‘are we going to pit or not?’.

“I think we made the right call. It was pretty ballsy by my engineer Marty (Short) and it paid off.”

Stanaway ended both sessions inside the top 10. Pic: Supplied

Race 2 qualifying

The shoe was on the other foot in the second session as Waters ended Triple Eight’s streak of pole positions.

Triple Eight fired its shots with just under five to go; Brown going to P1 with 1:47.5969s and then Feeney slotting in directly behind, 0.0441s adrift, before pitting.

This time Mostert left it late but could only manage a temporary best of fifth, which became ninth by the end.

Waters put in his pole-winning 1:47.4916s with two minutes to go to sit 0.1053s clear of Brown, much to the delight of all at Tickford who had worked to rapidly build-up a new car post-Bathurst.

“The team is pretty happy,” said Tickford Racing manager Matt Roberts. “It’s great to get a pole for the team and for Cam as well, a great way to debut a new car.

“We can’t quantify (the difference with the new car), I think it might be just a mind game. He says it feels better than the last car, so we’ll go with that.”

Mark Winterbottom bounced back from a tough first session to be fourth in the second ahead of Payne, De Pasquale, Jack Le Brocq, Will Davison, Mostert and Stanaway.

The final moments of the second session featured double-trouble for PremiAir Racing; Tim Slade spinning at Turn 3 before being joined by teammate James Golding moments later.

Both Nulon Camaros escaped undamaged but ended up just 17th and 19th on the timesheeets.

RESULTS: Qualifying for Race 1, 2024 MSS Security Melbourne SuperSprint

188Broc FeeneyTriple EightChevrolet1m47.7148s
211Anton De PasqualeDJRFord+0.1532s
325Chaz MostertWAUFord+0.2634s
487Will BrownTriple EightChevrolet+0.2692s
519Matt PayneGroveFord+0.4074s
610Nick PercatMSRChevrolet+0.4196s
76Cam WatersTickfordFord+0.4236s
826Richie StanawayGroveFord+0.4476s
914Bryce FullwoodBJRChevrolet+0.5702s
1099Todd HazelwoodErebusChevrolet+0.6956s
117James CourtneyBRTFord+0.6978s
1255Thomas Randle TickfordFord+0.7281s
139Jack Le BrocqErebusChevrolet+0.7376s
144Cameron Hill MSRChevrolet+0.7539s
1596Macauley JonesBJRChevrolet+0.7568s
1623Tim SladePremiAirChevrolet+0.7888s
1731James Golding PremiAirChevrolet+0.8264s
182Ryan Wood WAUFord+0.8376s
1917Will DavisonDJRFord+0.8437s
2018Mark WinterbottomTeam 18Chevrolet+0.9017s
2120David ReynoldsTeam 18Chevrolet+0.9923s
228Andre HeimgartnerBJRChevrolet+1.1798s
233Aaron LoveBRTFord+1.9153s
2412Jaxon Evans BJRChevrolet+2.277s

RESULTS: Qualifying for Race 2, 2024 MSS Security Melbourne SuperSprint

16Cam WatersTickfordFord1m47.4916s
287Will BrownTriple EightChevrolet+0.1053s
388Broc Feeney Triple EightChevrolet+0.1494s
418Mark WinterbottomTeam 18Chevrolet+0.2212s
519Matt PayneGroveFord+0.2693s
611Anton De PasqualeDJRFord+0.3872s
79Jack Le BrocqErebusChevrolet+0.4010s
817Will DavisonDJRFord+0.4634s
925Chaz MostertWAUFord+0.4664s
1026Richie StanawayGroveFord+0.6222s
1199Todd HazelwoodErebusChevrolet+0.6598s
1255Thomas Randle TickfordFord+0.6672s
1314Bryce FullwoodBJRChevrolet+0.7123s
1410Nick PercatMSRChevrolet+0.8087s
152Ryan Wood WAUFord+0.812s
1620David ReynoldsTeam 18Chevrolet+0.8412s
1723Tim SladePremiAirChevrolet+1.0162s
1812Jaxon Evans BJRChevrolet+1.0166s
1931James Golding PremiAirChevrolet+1.043s
2096Macauley JonesBJRChevrolet+1.045s
218Andre HeimgartnerBJRChevrolet+1.0938s
227James CourtneyBRTFord+1.1694s
234Cameron Hill MSRChevrolet+1.2231s
243Aaron LoveBRTFord+1.248s
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.