9.6 C
Mount Panorama
Tuesday, April 23, 2024
HomeNewsMurray soars to first Super2 pole of 2024

Murray soars to first Super2 pole of 2024

COOPER Murray has started well in his mission to turn the tables on title-winning Eggleston Motorsport teammate Kai Allen, snatching the first Super2 pole position of 2024.

The duo will share the front row of the grid for Race 1 this afternoon, after Murray got the upper hand by 0.1342s in qualifying.

The field was split in two for qualifying based on combined practice times – a system that will remain in place for 2024 as opposed to dividing by class (given there are now 23 Super2 and two Super3 entries).

Super3 rookie Cody Burcher made an immediate impression, being fastest of the 12 drivers in part 1 of qualifying.

Aboard a MW Motorsport Nissan Altima, Burcher set the benchmark at 2:08.2526s, in a session cut short when Elliott Cleary beached his Brad Jones Racing Commodore at Hell Corner with three minutes remaining to bring out red flags.

That prevented any potential late improvers, while Cleary was stripped of his best lap.

Mason Kelly meanwhile repaid his crew’s all-night rebuild with a solid effort to place sixth of the initial dozen.

Max Vidau locks up. Pic: Nathan Wong

By the end of another 15-minute session, Kelly was 19th, after the top 13 from Friday practice had their turn at qualifying and all soon surpassed Burcher.

Murray wasted no time in lowering the marker, posting a 2:06.5971s straight out of the gates thanks to a white-knuckle ride across the top.

Murray went quicker again the next time around, improving to 2:06.2189s.

His rivals including Allen and Walkinshaw Andretti United’s Zach Bates gradually got closer, but none could knock off the #88 driver who’ll steer a Triple Eight main game wildcard later this year.

Zane Morse finished the session in the sand trap at the Chase, having secured eighth on the grid.

Race 1 of the 2024 Dunlop Series is scheduled to start at 2:45pm AEDT.

Zane Morse. Pic: Nathan Wong

RESULTS: 2024 Super2 Qualifying for Race 1, Bathurst Round 1

188Cooper MurrayHolden Commodore ZBDS22m06.2189s
21Kai AllenHolden Commodore ZBDS2+0.1342s
325Zach BatesHolden Commodore ZBDS2+0.1828s
427Aaron CameronFord Mustang GTDS2+0.3122s
599Jobe StewartHolden Commodore ZBDS2+0.7331s
655Rylan GrayFord Mustang GTDS2+0.7416s
7118Jarrod HughesHolden Commodore ZBDS2+0.8142s
811Zane Morse Ford Mustang GTDS2+0.9181s
95Bradley VaughanFord Mustang GTDS2+0.9854s
1017Max VidauFord Mustang GTDS2+1.0085s
116Lochie DaltonFord Mustang GTDS2+1.0308s
1238Cameron CrickHolden Commodore ZBDS2+1.0948s
1354Jordyn SinniHolden Commodore ZBDS2+1.1078s
1415Cody BurcherNissan Altima L33DS3+2.0337s
1520Reuben GoodallHolden Commodore ZBDS2+2.0649s
1692Cameron McLeodHolden Commodore ZBDS2+2.1064s
173Thomas MaxwellNissan Altima L33DS3+2.2412s
1818Matt ChahdaHolden Commodore ZBDS2+2.3328s
1922Mason KellyFord Mustang GTDS2+2.4483s
202Campbell LoganHolden Commodore ZBDS2+2.5758s
219Cody GillisHolden Commodore ZBDS2+2.6197s
2233Callum WalkerHolden Commodore ZBDS2+3.0048s
2311Zane Morse Ford Mustang GTDS2+3.0517s
2419Elliott ClearyHolden Commodore ZBDS2+3.3114s
25219James MastertonHolden Commodore ZBDS2+7.4243s
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.