16.3 C
Mount Panorama
Saturday, April 20, 2024
HomeNewsReynolds pips Hazelwood in Perth practice

Reynolds pips Hazelwood in Perth practice

DAVID Reynolds has put Grove Racing on top at Wanneroo Raceway after leading an extended practice session at the Bosch Power Tools Perth SuperSprint.  

A number of drivers enjoyed time atop the timesheets across the 90-minute hitout, which roared to life in the closing stages.

Shane van Gisbergen was the initial pacesetter on a 55.3948s before Andre Heimgartner dislodged his countryman with 51 minutes remaining, going more than three tenths faster.

Will Davison, Brodie Kostecki and then Anton De Pasquale each gradually lowered the benchmark.

The latter did so with less than six minutes on the clock and was one of four drivers to not venture out for a final flying lap, the others being Davison and Matt Stone Racing duo Jack Le Brocq and Cameron Hill.

Kostecki soon went back into first, before Todd Hazelwood put the Blanchard Racing Team into P1 on a 54.5633s.

Reynolds though still had an answer to come, his 54.5285s giving him a buffer of 0.0348s.

Behind Reynolds and Hazelwood, the order ran: Kostecki, De Pasquale, Mark Winterbottom, James Golding, Heimgartner, Chaz Mostert, Matt Payne and James Courtney.

Broc Feeney was the lead Triple Eight driver in 11th, with Shane van Gisbergen 14th, while Tickford Racing star Cam Waters was just 22nd – albeit less than half a second off Reynolds.

It was an interrupted start to the sole pre-qualifying session with two early red flags.

The first was called in unusual circumstances, with a brief stoppage needed in order to reposition a data beacon.

The red flags were being waved again almost immediately after cars returned to the track, this time due to Macauley Jones burying his new-look Pizza Hut Camaro in the Turn 7 sand trap.

He wasn’t the only one to blot his copybook, with Cameron Hill beaching his #35 Chevrolet at Turn 6 to spark a third red flag period just before the halfway mark.

That dug into a chunk of actual track time, with more than six minutes lost from the session.

Heimgartner was the other driver to have a particularly hairy moment, although he managed to escape out of the Turn 6 sand.

Supercars qualifying kicks off tomorrow at 11:10am local time (1:10pm AEST).

RESULTS: Practice, 2023 Perth SuperSprint

126David ReynoldsGroveFord54.5285s
23Todd HazelwoodBRTFord+0.0348s
399Brodie KosteckiErebusChevrolet+0.1501s
411Anton De PasqualeDJRFord+0.1630s
5600Mark WinterbottomTeam 18Chevrolet+0.2068s
631James GoldingPremiAirChevrolet+0.2189s
78Andre HeimgartnerBJRChevrolet+0.2255s
825Chaz MostertWAUFord+0.2297s
919Matthew PayneGroveFord+0.2476s
105James CourtneyTickfordFord+0.2489s
1188Broc FeeneyTriple EightChevrolet+0.2756s
1234Jack Le BrocqMSRChevrolet+0.3226s
1317Will DavisonDJRFord+0.3488s
1497Shane van GisbergenTriple EightChevrolet+0.3608s
1520Scott PyeTeam 18Chevrolet+0.3636s
169Will BrownErebusChevrolet+0.3702s
1723Tim SladePremiAirChevrolet+0.3841s
1814Bryce FullwoodBJRChevrolet+0.3864s
1955Thomas RandleTickfordFord+0.4053s
2035Cameron HillMSRChevrolet+0.4169s
2156Declan FraserTickfordFord+0.4304s
226Cam WatersTickfordFord+0.4384s
232Nick PercatWAUFord+0.5261s
2496Macauley JonesBJRChevrolet+0.6270s
254Jack SmithBJRChevrolet+0.8068s
Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.

Latest News

Want to read more?

Subscribe to V8 Sleuth to receive regular updates of news and products delivered straight to you.